Dorothy on a Bike, Cambodian Genocide & Back-up Dancers


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
January 17th 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a quick plane ride from Siem Reap, I spent the next few days roaming the streets of Phnom Penh. Sunburned & nearly getting killed on my favorite mode of transportation, I toured the monuments, National Museum, Silver Pagoda, Royal Palace, Independence Square & finally the quiet waterfront of the Tonle Sap River situated very neatly outside my guest house, the Indochine Hotel. Being on a bike certainly frees you of moto drivers & tuk-tuks...or does it??? Hey lady...ride, ride? Um, no thanks, I can actually move around the city myself. Amazing for a Westerner isn't it 😉

Day two brought the Tuol Sleng Holocaust Museum & couple of hungover Aussies. I walked & it was too far, too hot & otherwise a crazy, crazy, crazy bustling city. The museum was disgusting. A children's school converted to a prison of torture devices & cramped cell blocks. Ghostlike pictures of detainees littered the wall & a movie at the end painted a personal story of two prisoners & their awful fates. I was very glad to get back to the hotel & shower & head out for dinner.

Evan from LA & Adam from Scotland entered my trip that night as they called me over to eat & drink with them. Evan had befriended a few Cambodian girls & they took us to a serious dance club called Spark. We were wildly entertained by karyoke singers & Backstreet Boys backup dancers! What a night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb