The wheels on the bus go.. in all kind of unexpected directions!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
June 24th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: A sample of the bus ride 13 secs
Thursday, 23 June
Tonight at the web company, the graphic design expat Daniel had arranged for a screening of his favourite movie, Helvetica. It is all about the font, helvetica. I think my favourite quote from the movie is where the German guy says something like "... I'm German, I love rules!". After the movie, Daniel, Grace and Mandie caught the midnight bus to Siem Reap. I'll be catching the bus on Friday afternoon after some work meetings in the morning and meet them up there.

Friday, 24 June
The bus ride to Siem Reap was pretty much ok. Though it was incredibly bumpy at times (see the video linked from this page for an example!) - I had to hold on to the arm rest not to fall out of my seat at one point. I was pretty tired though, so much like turbulence on an aeroplane it sent me off to sleep. One thing that wasn't so good was that a number of the seats on the bus were broken. I was lucky in that mine was broken so that it was fixed in a reclining position. The one in front was broken such that the person couldn't lean against it at all or it would lay flat on the lap of the guy next to me. Not so much fun on a 6 hour bus ride.

Safely in Siem Reap, I met up with the others at the hotel just in time to head out for dinner. We had a very nice relaxed meal at the Blue Pumpkin (I really love the way they have the couch style seats set up!) and then took a walk to the night markets. We even convinced Grace to try out the Dr Fish massage. Actually we all had a go which was quite a lot of fun, and no doubt very funny to watch. The others were all fairly exhausted after their midnight bus ride (apparently the driver's use of the horn ruled out much chance of sleep) and we had a 4.30am start planned for the next day, so we decided to have an earlyish night and headed for home not long after.

***Scroll down for more photos***


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb