Siem Reap and temples of Angkor


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
May 6th 2010
Published: May 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Siem Reap town has changed a lot during last 10 years. Now there is a lot of classy hotels around the town. And airport brings new tourists to site every day. The town it self is full of bars and restaurants. Luckily there still are many guesthouses in town so it’s easy to find place to stay, whether you like to stay in fancy hotel or in cheap guest house.

I used two days to explore main Angkor temples. The temple area is so big that you can’t check all temples and sights. Most popular and efficient way to explore temples is to rent tut-tut for a day. Tuk-tuk cost 10-14 USD per day, and usually drivers speaks quite good English and they know what are the best places to see.

First day I used to see Angkor Wat and Bayon temples that are the most famous ones. Those are impressive sights!

Second day I rented bicycle and I did a small tour around the area (20km tour) and check few temples outside Angkor Thom area, like Ta Prohm temple, where Tomb Rider was filmed.

I prefer more nature-takes-back type of places, like Ta Prohm temple, where huge trees and plants has taken over temple. But so seem to like other peoples also. This was only place where ware too many people and you had to queue just to walk through the temple. One reason may be that it was Saturday and there may be a lot of tourist just during weekend.

There are interesting temples outside of this area, and I was planning to see some of those also, but unfortunately I did eat something that did not suit me well and next day I was not in shape to check temples that are further away. I’ve heard that there are some temples that are really covered by jungle. Maybe next time.

Angkor Wat /Thom area was one of the mandatory visiting places on my list, although I’m not so interested in ruins. It was worthwhile trip to see the temple areas. The Siem Reap town is now a day typical tourist town: lot of bars, restaurants, market places….



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb