Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
January 4th 2006
Published: March 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bangkok to Siem Reap


I wanted to see Angkor Wat for a long time.
After a little bit of convincing Michelle, Darren, and Christoff agreed to come to Angkor Wat with me.

I have been to Brazil and I have been to Mexico, but nothing prepared me for what I was about to see in Cambodia.
Our flight from Bangkok to Siem Reap was early and short. After a long line for a visa at Siem Reap airport, we were picked up by our hotel. Roads were barely paved and fields looked like something out of Vietnam war movies.
Michelle and I decided to relax at hotel and boys decided to check out the town.

Normally I am very much prepared before I go on a trip, but somehow I didn't do any research on Cambodia... school final and work would be the blame. Once we got there, we found out that there was only one ATM in entire country, in Phnom Penh. So when we were out of cash, we had to ask these money exchange places to charge our credit cards, then they would keep certain percentage and give us the rest.

Chris and Darren found this Tuktuk driver that was happy to take us anywhere that we wanted to go.
He even waited for us and told us to look for him the next day.

We stayed at Shinta Mani, which I truly recommend. Staff was very much accomodating and breakfast was awesome.

Next day, we were off to Angkor Wat...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Our Tuktuk DriverOur Tuktuk Driver
Our Tuktuk Driver

He was with us the whole three days...


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0903s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb