Camden's account


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
June 21st 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We went to Angkor wat today; which is the largest and most breathtaking monument at Angkor. Angkor are many ruins which are is just north of Siem Reap, in Northwest, Cambodia. We started the day with an english style breakfast from "le Grand Cafe", for 5 dollars: eggs, bacon, fresh baked bread, jam and a huge bowl of fresh grown fruits. We started our journey on bikes rented previously for $1.5 a day. I should note that when we rented the bikes, some bikes were outside getting wet and Britteni, cleverly, noticed a better one inside, so she got that one and I got a mountain bike with shock absorbers. We had about a 4 mile bike to the ruins. As we were biking Britteni crashed her small chinese bike into my bike. Just a bump but I was concerned about her maneuvering ability. The day before we purchased a one day pass costing $20 per person allowing us access to hundreds of ruins. We got to Angkor Wat, and all I can say is words can't really describe this amazingly well preserved piece of history. After an hour of viewing Angkor Wat we decided to go to the next ruin highly recommended by Lonely Planet guide book, Ta Prohm. This isn't a hop and skip in the park, its a 10 kilometer, journey through sweltering humidity and worse, Cambodian drivers. We were almost to Ta Prohm and I was looking back at a sign in Cambodian to make sure that it wasn't Ta Prohm. As I was looking back I see Britteni on the otherside of the road, heading directly for an oncoming moterscooter as I shouted, oh no, Britteni's cheaply made chinese bike crashed into the scooter. Some people near by rushed to Britteni's aid. I threw my bike down and ran over to where she was. With a million questions in my mind, most importantly, what bones did she break. I asked her if she was ok and in typical Britteni fashion she said she was fine and brushed it off as if it was nothing. Her bike, however, that we rented for $1.5, was severely crushed with the front tire hitting the front of the frame of the Bike making it immobile. How were we going to get to the next ruin or back to the hotel. I proceeded to bend the tire bike back into position and almost had it when 5 law enforcement officials came to our aid?? Would they give us a ticket, or worse would we give them a bribe. It was our lucky day a bystander near us had told the police about what happened and in retrospect we're sure that she told them a white lie saying it was the scooters fault. The scooter guy drove off not incurring any damage. The bike wheel was jammed and would not turn so the cops and I together bended the wheel back into place and made the bike rideable. With a couple of thank you's and excuse my french a "shit eating grin" we said goodbye and under my breath, I said "let's get the hell out of here." thinking in only a matter of time they would be asking for money. Britteni moved on to the next ruin; thankful for all the prayers our family have been saying for our safety.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb