$20 to enter Cambodia? I'm not sure I have it.


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
February 8th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Moto trailer into townMoto trailer into townMoto trailer into town

Similar to a Tuk Tuk in Thailand.
I left K.L., Malaysia behind this morning on an Air Asia flight bound for Siem Reap, Cambodia. As far as I was concerned, it couldn't happen soon enough...

I tried to use my debit card in K.L. again this morning, and as usual, it was rejected. Thanks Bank of America.

At this point, my cash level was seriously low. I knew I needed to pay about $15-$20 for my taxi to the airport which turned out to be 45 minutes away. I paid this by working a deal with the taxi driver where the fare was split between the remainder of my ringgits (Malaysian currency) and U.S. dollars. That left me with about $13 in U.S. dollars, $1.50 in Singapore dollars, and my trump card (Thailand currency worth about $30). I was pretty sure there was no departure tax from Malaysia but I knew there was a fee for entering Cambodia. Unfortunately, I didn't know what it was. Hmmm...this could get interesting.

I wasn't really worried though...honestly. Just chatted with God a bit, and figured no matter what happened, I'd deal with it.

A 2 hour flight from K.L. and I was in Siem Reap. Siem Reap's
La Villa LotiLa Villa LotiLa Villa Loti

picture of my room in Siem Reap, Cambodia
airport consists of one small terminal and landing strip. Immediately things felt better. It was sunny, warm, but not unbearably hot as I stepped off the plane. As I entered the terminal, the first sign I saw said "Cambodia prefers VISA". That was a good start. All I had beside my little remaining cash was my VISA card. The entry fee was $20, which I didn't have in U.S. dollars, and they made me give them my 1,000 Thai baht note (lost some on that exchange rate) but it got me into the country.

Cambodia uses Riels in rural areas but primarily U.S. dollars in the cities (but only U.S. bills, not coins; change is in riels). The stores and restaurants even list their prices in U.S. dollars.

I had a driver waiting for me at the airport exit who took me to my hotel a little outside of town. It's a french owned place named La Villa Loti. It has only 8 rooms in a nice setting. It's considered mid-range for the city ($44).

I got settled in and then ventured into town to find a bank. I found out that most tourists in Cambodia get cash through banks/money changers that charge their credit card while taking 1-2 % of the cut. There were no ATMs in Siem Reap up until about 6 months ago, and they still aren't common. Considering my recent luck with my debit card and ATMs, the credit card plan seemed good to me.

I got into town and figured I'd give an ATM one last try...it was in a glass enclosure with a guard nearby...hmmm, ok. I put my debit card in, entered my request of $400, and wouldn't you know it...it worked!

My cash crunch was over.

I celebrated with a nice lunch at 2:00 (my first meal of the day).

I've already met a few people in town, and was invited to join a group of people for dinner. I may take them up on that.

That's it for now. Look! There goes Dave!

I'll be busy the next few days checking out the Angkor Wat ruins. Pictures to follow...











Advertisement



19th February 2006

i think its not because of BOA that your ATM card didnt work in Malaysia, instead it has to do with the new malaysian banking system that uses a "chip" not a magnetic strip. does your ATM card have a chip or magnetic strip? mine also didnt work in malaysia due to this change but it had worked on previous trips.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 27; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb