Change of plans ...


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
December 22nd 2005
Published: December 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well I was packed and ready to leave on the Battambang leg of the journey at 5:45 am. The boat company sends a minibus or similar to collect customers at 6. However, my bus driver 'forgot' me ... so at 6:30 I started agitating for something to happen and in a last ditch effort I was raced out to the area where the boat departs ... in a tuk tuk that literally bounced from rut to rut tossing me, my backpack and the carriage about so much that I thought we might all be separated at some stage ... and we were hurtling along a narrow strip of land with water on both sides as well as huts and people having breakfast, children walking to school (start at 7am) - not exactly a place to speed ... especially when you meet an oncoming car!

.. alas ... the boat had already gone ...

No more boats today ... "we are sorry" the people say "the company will change your ticket for tomorrow" ... hmmmm ... the cambodian concept of customer service ... the people who have helped me ... the staff from the guest house ... are all very apologetic and helpful ... and I am yet to have words with the ticket seller ... I am wondering how that will go and how I express my disappointment without deeply offending someone I shouldn't ... so we'll see. Perhaps I just need to slip into Khmer mode and go with the flow more ... and well ... it probably means I spend Christmas day on a bus ... somewhere between Battambang (NW Cambodia) and Phnom Phen or the capital and the Sihoukanville (beach destination in the south). Perhaps I will eat seafood for Christmas dinner?

Advertisement



22nd December 2005

Merry Christmas
It sound like you are having a great time. Same Same. We look forward to reading more
22nd December 2005

Fear not this is normal!!
Hey Mary, this was obviously meant to be - I woudl trust fate and go with the Khmer flow. Have a big seafood nosh for Christmas and dont worry about it

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb