A New Dawn, A New Day


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
July 18th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lounging yesterday, teaching Ta the chicken dance, YMCA and cartwheels, a lovely british man sat down at a nearby table. As usual, a quick smile and hello was shared, as we continued to ponder where we would go next. We needed a fresh start and as we began to discuss the pros and cons of each location, this man, who is very well traveled, listened in and joined our conversation. By the end of our discussion we were ready to head out to the streets of Seim Reap and get the best "deal" to our next city, Phnom Penh.

The first tourist place told us a bus would be $12-15. The second tourist place told us it would cost $10-12. The third place told us a firm $9, so I reached deep down and put on my most serious "Ellie O'Leary" face and told him we would pay no more than $7 each, $21 total in American cash, put the money on the table, soaking wet from sweat, and waited. It was like in the old western movies, starring at each other, waiting for the next move, but he could not refuse and accepted, with his head hanging low. We had won, finally, we had won.

I will never pay $1.98 for a md Dunkin Donuts coffee again!

Breakfast and good-byes await us.

~Thai Kho and crew

Advertisement



18th July 2008

You go girl!!!! Cheryl
18th July 2008

Art of negotiation
So, it's get tough with the natives now. Looks like you've got a new motto "Don't mess with Howell."
18th July 2008

Hello
Nice to see all of your faces-it looks like you are all having a great time! Kristin, great idea on the blog - we enjoy reading it!
18th July 2008

Cheryl
Cheryl, my BFF, miss you tons. The Mary Kay market out here is yours for the taking. You would take them by storm!
18th July 2008

Shayna
Hey Shayna! All is well here. Your sister is fantastic. I can't believe the conditions she is able to sleep in. She just shuts those little eyes of her and we move around her like she's not there. I don't think she was awake for ANY of the 27 hr plane ride. Pretty amazing. How are your parents holding up? Your mom plays tough, but she sat there and waited while we were in line at Logan. Courtney says hello.
18th July 2008

Finally something to smile about!
Kristin, so happy to finally see you all in good health and seem to be happy! I'm still saying the prayers!
18th July 2008

Barstow
Yup, I'm gettin tough, too tough. I went to the Night Market and tried to pull the same trick and it didn't work. She wanted $6 for two tshirts and I told her I'd give her a dollar. She brushed me off. It's okay though, my numbers are a bit off, I'll get better at it.
18th July 2008

Cousin Mo
I promise, we are all well. No need to worry! Thanks for checking in on us.
18th July 2008

NJ Jane
Hey You! Thanks for the message. We are patiently waiting for the bus to arrive. There is an 11 hr time difference. It's 8:39AM Friday here and it's 9:39PM Thursday back home. What's new with you? Tell the fam I said hello. This time last year we were HP crazy!!
18th July 2008

Loving the blog! You are quite witty..........along with your blog, I am loving Nicole and Patty's responses to your entries. I look forward to reading theirs as well. Sounds like all is well - give you lots of credit! Enjoy......come on Patty and Nicole - I need some more entertainment!!!!
18th July 2008

damn
im so gald you are having fun...and who knew what a negotiator you would be...thats great...i love reading the blogs...keep em comming:)
18th July 2008

next stop phnom penh
did you say you were going there???? the former ceo of tissuelink founded the global child (www.theglobalchild.org) with her husband sister and brother-in law...might be interesting...i have no idea how big that city is though
18th July 2008

Kristin, I am so happy to finally see you in a picture. All of the others were beautiful, but this last one is even more beautiful b/c you are in it. Sounds like you are really getting tough with those people. Keep it up. Be safe and God Bless. Love, Carol
18th July 2008

There they are!
The whole crew all on film. Now your getting the hang out it. You almost a local, if you can just stop saying Wicked Awesome. mmm...naaa.. I like it. Eric
18th July 2008

Are you kidding?!?!
You didn't really pay that much...did you? You coulda fed every kid in the orphanage for that much money! Don't worry, you'll catch on eventually! Taken from http://www.unfpa.org/ (the united nations) Annual average per capita income is estimated at no more than $290, with close to 40 per cent of the entire population living below the poverty line.
18th July 2008

I am learning so much from your stories and pictures. I really admire your adventurous spirit!!!!
18th July 2008

Hey....Hold up on that $1.98 D.D. coffee!!! You talk about sweat and I instantly feel it...How does a nice cool shower sound ...soap shampoo and body wash..In your travels please find a nice air conditioned hotel. Spend the extra dollar....or Bhat.. Maybe not where you are now but when you get back to Bancock..Stay well Love Mom
18th July 2008

Kristin; you are really good at this story telling. Maybe you can write some short stories and sell them. Glad to hear you learned how to bargain. That's what its all about. Miss you stay well and have fun. Thanks for the pics. Its nice to finally catch a glimpse of you and your friends.
18th July 2008

Way to go!
Way to be assertive! You look great! It is so good to see your face. Keep those blogs coming.
18th July 2008

hi
Thank god u didn't fall overboard! Swimming in poop with alligators and snakes--YUCK! I love the pictures and updates! Be safe and have fun! We all miss u!
18th July 2008

It's hot here too!
I know it's not Cambodia weather but boy is it hot as hell here. No snakes, no orphanages, nothing adventurous but still, something we have in common right now! Been a quite day here at our house. Jaclyn is napping and hasn't been put in the naughty chair or near the First Aid Kit today - but the day is still young. I loved the picture of you guys. Although I don't remember that man in the middle which means he's a stranger and you should never talk to strangers Kristin!!!! Have I taught you nothing? He may be the type of person Dad warned you about - refer to last phone conversation when he reminded you to never carry a bag on to an airplane for someone else. haa haa haa! We are coming up on the first full week you have been gone and it seems like forever. I think your car in my driveway is depressing me. If it's out there, I expect you in here fighting over who will eat the most chicken dinos and Doritos - you or my husband!! He's winning now! Before I forget, I talked to the woman about that vaccine bill for you, she said they resubmitted to Tufts. Besides that, very quiet. Be vigilant of your surroundings and be safe. Miss you so bad it's starting to really hurt!!! Love you with all my heart! Oh God, I'm choking up! SOB!! Oh p.s. Jeana -- shut up!!! haa haaa!!
18th July 2008

Bargaining
Ah, the joy of bargaining. The highs and lows. It´s quite an artform, isn´t it? I bet you the local paid half that, and in my opinion so they should! I think the trick is to be comfortable and amused while you bargain: it´s a social thing a much as a business thing - it´s not as cut throat as it appears when you start doing it. No such bargaining over here. Fixed prices and that´s that. I´ve tried to write back to you for most of your entries, (even though you never reply) but after today I won´t be writing for 10 days or so: I´m heading into the jungle! I´ll look forward to catching up with your adventures when I get back! mike

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb