Angkor Wat Images


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
February 19th 2015
Published: February 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Note: I confess, I started this blog last year while in Siem Reap and never published it then. Since I just passed through Siem Reap again, I thought I wouldn't be cheating too much if I published it now. The temples in the area are still astounding. I could visit many times without tiring of these places

Each of the massive buildings in the Angkor Wat complex has a different feel, each projects a message. The hours invested in raising them is astonishing. How many workers toiled under threat, under force, and how many toiled to gain merit, or as honored artisans, proudly creating an edifice that would boast wealth and grandeur for centuries to come?

After touring many, I tired of taking photos, and just wanted to stroll and feel these places. I longed for the bus loads of tourists to disappear and leave me alone, alone to inspect the tree root now an essential part of the wall fabric, alone to absorb the bright orange and green of the lichens, alone to curve my eyes around each astonishing carving.



You just have to be there to know Angkor Wat. And you just have to go many times.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Queuing up to climb the final stairs at Angkor WatQueuing up to climb the final stairs at Angkor Wat
Queuing up to climb the final stairs at Angkor Wat

....and I think, please just go away


Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb