Still no computer access for photos on camera :-(


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
October 20th 2012
Published: October 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

As the blog title states... I've still no computer access to upload the photos from my camera, I will do once I get to Bangkok!

Today started early, very early. I woke before my alarm, well actually I only dozed all night as there were what sounded like 20 dogs howling and barking all night long! So at 4am I got up & ready and then met my tuk tuk driver and we drove to Angkor Wat. Walking the long dark bridge across to Angkor I sat with probably 300 people waiting for sunrise. To see the Cambodian morning star disappear and then watch Angkor rise in the morning light was breathtaking. It truly is a wonder of the world. I spent about 1 hr at Angkor and then after meeting TJ ( a girl from Finland) we combined forces and got our driver to take us to the Bayon temple

Its most distinctive feature is the multitude of serene and massive stone faces on the many towers which jut out from the upper terrace and cluster around its central peak. The temple is known also for two impressive sets of bas-reliefs which present an unusual comnine historical and mundane scenes.

From here we went to probably the most well know, thanks to Tomb Raider, and my favourite temple. It was built in the bayons style largely in the late 12th and early 13th centuries. Unlike most Angkorian temples, Ta Prohm has been left in much the same condition in which it was found: the photogenic and atmospheric combination of trees growing out of the ruins and the jungle surroundings have made it one of Angkor's most popular temples with visitors. UNESCO inscribed Ta Prohm on the World Heritage List in 1992. Today, apprantly, it is one of the most visited complexes in Cambodia’s Angkor region and you can understand why.

After seeing the 3 main temples I headed back to the hostel and then into town for brunch.

I treated myself to a manicure/pedicure ready for my beach days in Thailand and then met TJ for tea.

I'm really lucky to have experienced Angkor Wat and was so in awe of the detail put into the construction. It is the largest Hindu temple complex in the world. The temple was built by king suryavaman king suryavaman II in the early 12th century in yasaharadura, present-day Angkor), the capital of the Khmer empire as his state temple and eventual mausoleum

Angkor wat itself is set within a moat and an outer wall 3.6 kilometres (2.2 mi) long are three rectangular galleries.

It is a place that you cannot fully capture in a picture, you have to be there to not only see it but experience the sounds and smells.

Hope you enjoy the photos

Love to all xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 120, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



















Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb