Angkor Wat


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
May 16th 2011
Published: May 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've just got back from the most amazing place on earth it would seem. The Angkor Wat, I huge 10km site built with amazing detail, purpose and meaning to Buddhism. I woke at 4:30am to meet the two Germans that I travelled to Siem Reap with to see the sun rise over the temple. To be honest not the greatest sunrise I've seen but the temple it's self is superb.

Buddhists can be seen around the temple and the greater city of Angkor Thom, which contains the many temples wrapped with vines and trees like in the Thomb Raider Movie is a photographers heaven. It's really peaceful even in the tourist traps the worst part is at the Tuk Tuk stops when your are surrounded by local children begging for money or to buy there tourist tat.

All in all a great place, I'm heading back this evening to watch the sunset which is promised to be much better than sunrise.

Tomorrow I will move on to Battambang, I only decided this morning because I want to try the Bamboo train there which is only meant to have a short life left due to a part supply issue!! It looks great fun. I leave a 07:30 in the morning to the air conditioned goodness of a coach, because today has been extremely hot.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb