Final reflections


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
August 30th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello

So this week I've had a few days off from helping in the Orphanage, and made it up to Siem Reap to visit the Angkor temples. They're are astounding. See some pictures at

http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/heatherjpeck/CambodiaTheTouristStuff

I also today visited the war museum in Phnom Penh. It was quite an experience. It really brought home the reality of the suffering of this whole nation. During the time of Pol Pot (1975-79) 2 million Cambodians were killed, many also tortued. The population was 7million. It was massive. Everyone you see here today was affected by the tragedy. There is such grief and so many questions that are still unanswered. Pol Pot went into hiding in the jungle and died in 1997. There are 5 people that worked with him during that time that were captured and are awaiting trial.

I nearly didn't go to the museum as I thought it would be too upsetting but I am really pleased that I did go. Being here for one month working with the children and carers I've felt a part of the country. Seeing the reality of their recent history has been a invaluable part of understanding more deeply where these people are coming from.

Tonight I went to John Tucker's 60th birthday party - he's the guy who is running NHCC. I met some of his friends who all also had wonderful life stories to tell. And also they were able share their experiences of working with such poverty in Cambodia.

It really has been a extremely enriching and mind opening experience.

Much love
Heather

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb