Cambodian Temples, Weddings & Duck


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
April 1st 2008
Published: April 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Landing in Siem Reap Cambodia on Sunday 31st March at 7am I am allocated a young 26 year old taxi driver named Muay who found a Hotel for me in the town centre area. On arrival we negotiate a price for the hire of the taxi for two days starting the next day. He then invites me to join him to attend his friends wedding party that day. At 10.30am he picked me up from the hotel and along with another one of his friends we head out of town to the countryside for the party.

On arrival I am greeted by the wedding entourage where the young couple and their wedding group are dressed lavishly in hired satin outfits. The groom is pleased that I have joined their wedding party and I get down to sampling some of the wedding food fair and meet some of the guests, along with dancing and drinking copious amounts of local beer with the local men.

After a few hours I am taken back to Muay parents farmhouse where the family grow rice and other crops and being asked whether I like duck…a live duck is brought from the farm and is cooked of dinner in local herbs and spices. The rest of the evening we spent drinking Angkor Beer, before I was driven home for an early night…apparently there are no drinking and driving laws in this country?!

The next day Muay collects me as promised at 9am and we drive out to visit Angkor Wat & Uncle Thom, for some amazing sights of the Cambodia’s historic past Khmer empires, kings and religions. The next day Muay brings his brother and nephew along for the ride to do a favour for his sister and we visit some of the other important temple sites. On the way back we witness an amazing Buddha Monks festival where hundreds of monks parade through the town holding lotus flowers and some riding elephants.

During the evening I went to a cultural dance show with Cambodian buffet included and although Muay invited me along to a local club to celebrate a friends birthday, I opt for an early night after the heat and excitement of another fascinating day in Siem reap.



Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Cambodian Wedding partyCambodian Wedding party
Cambodian Wedding party

The Bride and Girls


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb