A little education


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, Arun took me to Angkor Wat this morning. He wanted to save the best for last.

I was able to understand a few things today that were puzzling to me. As we arrived at Angkor Wat, some of Arun's friends were there. They were staring at me and began speaking to him in Khmer. As we walked down the entryway to the temple, he asked if it would be alright if he asked me a question. I said, ÿes, of course". He asked my age, and I made him guess. I finally told him my age, which led into the discussion that I wanted to have the first day I got here. He explained that Khmer people were not as accessible and free with their thoughts as the Thais are. This totally made sense. So, I begin asking him questions about his family life and growing up. He shared with me that his father and sister had been killed during the Khmer Rouge. This left he and his mother. He has been taking care of his mother all these years as she is quite ill. He also explained that he has not been his usual self the past few days because of this. It was all making sense to me. And, it was at this moment that he allowed himself to be vulnerable with his emotions, that I really understood and connected to him. This is a lesson that really hit home for me. In being vulnerable with others, it allows them to see that one is also human. In my relationships with people, I have not been so vulnerable as I always looked at vulnerability as weakness. It is not weakness, it is strength. Strength is in knowing that we all have faults, but we are still wonderful in our own rite.

This was a nice revelation to have as I walked the long entry to the temple. Unfortunately, Angkor Wat is not something I feel can really be expressed in words. It can't even be felt in photos.

Speaking of photos, I will be posting the remainder of photos when I get back home. I am leaving Cambodia for Bangkok in a few hours. I will be in Bangkok for two days, then make the long journey towards San Francisco. After, I post my favorite photos, I will also let you know how I am feeling post vacation, as I think some experiences have not quite settled. So, stay tuned because you may not see anything from me in the next couple of days. Thanks to everyone for the comments and personal messages. I love reading them.....

Advertisement



16th January 2008

You're Inspiring
You're doing stuff most people see people doing in movies. You are inspiring chica!! Can't wait to see the pictures. And I can completely relate to what you said about being vulnerable. I used to think that too. Be safe and I'll keep an eye out for your next blog when ur back in San Fran. Love ya!
16th January 2008

Good to hear
Malissa, I am so glad you relate. It was a great moment for me. Yes, this experience has almost been like being in a movie. Well, that is what our lives are, yes? A movie? We just have different titles:)
17th January 2008

amazing experiences
it is not just the experiences that you are having but your relections on them that has made reading your blog mind-expanding. can't wait to hear more in person. safe travel home!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb