Into Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
November 7th 2006
Published: November 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After travelling back to Bangkok for 1 night, I then undertook the 15 hour journey to Siem Reap, Cambodia. The bus to the border was superb with aircon, films etc...however, the bus from the border was little more than a glorified lorry which we then had to sit in for the next 6 hours covering terrain more suited to a NASA moon rover!

Whilst in and around Siem Reap I did the following:

Visited more temples than ever before in my life whilst dodging bus loads of Japs & Koreans! Went to where Tomb Raider was filmed and spoke to a buddost monk for and hour - had to explain, via the medium of charades, the difference between a monkey and a donkey.

Went to a school to join in with the underpriviledged kids - played footy (won of course 😉 Did some dancing Khmer styley and then became a human climbing frame for about 2hrs whilst they practiced Muay Thai on me.

Gave blood at the local children's hospital - got some free biccies and a can of Sprite.

Supported the economy by drinkin copious amounts of G&T.

Saw Pol Pot's toilet seat.

Went to a butterfly garden for afternoon tea.

Explained to the son of the hostel owner that the phrase 'Handsom man' shouldn't be used to greet Western men.

Met some cool people.

Ate some delicious Khmer food but still not had any insects...Smarty??

Came 5th in a quiz (questions in English thankfully).

Wrote some graffitti (Black Boy FC - Reading for those interested) at a bar.

Almost crashed in every Tuk-tuk I've been in.

Did a Gene Kelly impression in the road with a mental Norwegian girl during a torrential downpour - first rain I'd seen since I left.

Drank gin and thought about setting a business up here - paintball or hide 'n' seek at an ancient temple...ok, it's a little blasphemous.

Found out that you can blow a cow up with a bazooka in Phnom Penh for $200.

Ate some chips 'n' gwavy...mmm, northern boys love gwavy!

Improved my bartering skills - walking away works wonders 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Buddist monk at Angkor WatBuddist monk at Angkor Wat
Buddist monk at Angkor Wat

Talked to these guys for ages
Angkor Wat? Bar, Siem ReapAngkor Wat? Bar, Siem Reap
Angkor Wat? Bar, Siem Reap

Can you spot the BBFC graffiti?
The Green Gekko project, Siem ReapThe Green Gekko project, Siem Reap
The Green Gekko project, Siem Reap

The calm before the storm...


31st January 2007

Heeey hansom man
This was crazy;) I was looking for Green Gekko`s homepage. I thought I read through this blog I found, and I thought "OAO, this guy did the exact same things I did..." And scrolling down the page Gary and me appeared.. hehe. Very strange. Lost my brown book, and your adress with it. So this gives me a chance to thank you again!! For pretending that your music is your Ivy and making sure I was safe at the hospital. You can not imagine how happy I was the day I left (crazy people, crazy manager) Hopefully you wrote something about how the Mecong was, so I will read that now. Can not belive I missed that.. Hope you are great wherever you are. Big kiss, kicks and hug

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb