Bagan King Hotel


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Mandalay
October 23rd 2017
Published: October 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Bagan King hotel
Completely different to Clover in style and ambience. Staff are of course attentive, friendly and helpful but the whole place is rather posh. I am most definitely the customer. Prices are listed in USD with a poor exchange rate. For example Sprite was k1000 in Clover and k2100 here.

Although I arrived before 10, staff prepared my room so I was able to bag up my t-shirts and trousers that were soaked in Yangon’s rain and by 7 this evening they were back in my room freshly laundered, at a cost of 12 USD for 5 pieces.
It was useful to pay for dinner on my last night as I have not changed enough into kyat. That was $14 a good price for peppered beef and rice, banana fritters in honey and a decaf coffee. However it was double what I have been paying in local restaurants catering to foreigners.
Yes it is posh and we are paying for that. This morning I dropped and broke a ceramic spoon in my room. Immediately I took it to reception to apologize and was charged a dollar. The chap at the desk typed into his computer and said “it’s only one dollar “. I don't think it is the culture more a rip off. Of course I paid as I don't want staff in trouble. I'll learn from this and remember to use the cup and cutlery I brought with me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb