I doubt words can describe it...


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Inle Lake
September 15th 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

...But I will try to put Inle Lake into words... I think I fell in love with this place. It's definitely not for the restaurants, they are seriously lacking here but in everything else there is so much natural beauty that it's crazy.

I did a few things while here.. rented a bike and cycled for about 12-15 miles. I went out to Inle Spa, where I was the only person there. Made for a nice time to relax even though it was a cloudless day and probably near 100 degrees. I probably spent as much time in the spa water as I did in the cold shower.

The other highlight was going out onto Inle Lake which was amazing to say the least. The day was overcast with a little rain but it made the day (7am-6pm) a very cool, relaxing experience since you aren't baking under the sun. The mountains surrounding the lake and the water towns/villages are amazing. I could have probably spent another day just watching the people and places go by. I don't think the photos do it any justice.

The photo of the Karen woman, they are originally from a state south of the Shan state (Inle is in the Shan state) but now they are being exploited by being sent to Inle Lake to work in souvenir shops and such.

This basically wraps up my time in Myanmar, I hope to come back in the future as this is one of the few countries that is still far less affected by westernization that anywhere else in the world. A prime example is men's attire. They wear a longyi instead of jeans/pants.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My private Spa for the day.My private Spa for the day.
My private Spa for the day.

My $3 splurge!! :)
The power goes out frequently.The power goes out frequently.
The power goes out frequently.

This was outside at dinner.


25th September 2009

Hi!
Great blog!!! If you like, come back and visit mine: albumdeestampillas blogspot com Thanks, Pablo from Argentina

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb