Thieves in the Temples


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Bagan
April 7th 2006
Published: April 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bagan is the premiere destination of Burma. I knew I was heading here and I used that fact for justifying the most half-assed attempt at Angkor Wat, ever. I really liked Bagan, it was cheaper and infinitely less crowded than Angkor, riding bikes around the ruins is a blast, and you could tell there was a earnest attempt at upkeep i.e., monks are not picking up garbarge like they do at Angkor. A lot of temples were destroyed in an earthquake in the 70's but a massive reconstruction effort later its looking pretty good. Maybe even too good, some of the temples don't even look like ruins.

You better get there soon, though.

To whom it may concern,

Please don't sell Bagan to a heartless Japanese corporation.

Thank you,

Kate


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

I make babies cryI make babies cry
I make babies cry

her dad brought her over so they could take a picture and she started bawling haha aww
Senti gave them 100 kyat for this pictureSenti gave them 100 kyat for this picture
Senti gave them 100 kyat for this picture

I've seen these people pictured on other travel blogs, I'm onto you guys you're paying for those shots haha. Anyways, they walk around looking very Burmese and tourists can't help but take a picture of them, and then they feel obligated to give them money.
Horse cartHorse cart
Horse cart

we rode around in it the first day
Us at a posh restaurantUs at a posh restaurant
Us at a posh restaurant

We were 40 years younger than everybody there
Burmese foodBurmese food
Burmese food

Darn tasty


7th December 2006

great pics!
I love your pictures from this post... Makes me want to visit Burma right away!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb