Amankora Thimphu


Advertisement
Bhutan's flag
Asia » Bhutan » Thimphu
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Amankora StaffAmankora StaffAmankora Staff

Some of the servers Shane works with
As some of you know and some of you might not, the reason Shane and I came out to Bhutan was that Shane got a job with Amankora. Amankora is the name for the five Aman lodges located in Bhutan. There is a lodge in Paro, Thimphu, Punakha, Gangtey, and Bumthang. We will get a chance to stay at them all in December which should be quite an experience in wealth. They are very high-end. I walk up to the Amankora Thimphu lodge most days. It is a nice walk further up the mountain and it gets quieter the higher you go. Also, I can check my email when there are no guests waiting for the computer. The people are very nice. “Kuzuzampo la” they all say to me. I am “chef Shane’s” wife and they put the ‘la’ on the end to show respect. There are many terms in Dzongka, the Bhutanese language, which are used to show respect. Shane is able to ask for a driver for most occasions although it is important to not take advantage. If we want to go out in town they will drop us off and we can even call for a pick up late into the night. There is a driver available for lodge management all day long. We have made friends here at the lodge. The lodge purchaser, Chodra invited us over to his place with his wife Yangchan. It is the busy season but a couple of the women have also offered to take me places or go to get tea. I’ll make Shane write about his experiences at the Lodge soon.

Advertisement



13th March 2009

Wonderful opportunity you had!
Hi, I'm an Aman junkie...on a budget...what a chance you had to stay so long in Buthan...I'm going through the different blogs on Buthan for the moment... I plan to get there sometimes in 2010!

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb