Foreign politics


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
October 29th 2006
Published: October 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Well, I wish I had wonderful stories about life here in Bangladesh over the past week, but alas. I had to cancel all of my Eid plans and spend the better part of the past week in bed with a nasty virus which included a fever of 103 and any other symptom you can associate with either flu or cold. Am starting to feel human again (sort of) but with a nasty residual head cold. Have been forced to move on from Grey's Anatomy (how many times can you watch the same thing?) to the season of Friends when Rachel was pregnant (aahhh... good times) and have been known to subject myself to Wife Swap and America's Next Top Model on tv (seriously? Is this the best of American culture to export?).

So I finally feel better and, if you haven't yet heard, the country decides to go beserk. Friday was the last day of the current government's regime, and Saturday a caretaker government was supposed to take control for three months before the election. Unfortunately the opposition strongly objected to the ruling party's choice for advisor to the caretaker government, causing a general strike and violence to ensue. 100 plus members of the ruling party, including many top leaders, broke rank to form a new party on Thursday, causing many of their houses and offices to be burned and resulting in numerous deaths. Yesterday the whole city was shut down until the candidate said he would not take the job. NOw there is no government and no caretaker government, so things are left in the hands of the President and the army may have to come in to take control. Today things seemed quiet, like the whole country is holding its breath to see what will happen. Although some offices are open, the roads are almost totally devoid of cars and buses. Police are everywhere. I have just been informed that BRAC staff are being sent home at 12, so I don't have much time to write.

I'm not sure if you will get news about the situation at home, but please know that I am safe where I live and that it is usually clear when I should stay home and not go out. Arif cancelled our internet at home because it never works, so I don't know when I will have access again. It seems as though offices will also be closed tomorrow because of the uncertain political and safety situations.

Some good news to leave you with: the other day I was looking at the reference list of a book I bought written by a Norwegian prof. about indigenous people in Bangladesh, and I was cited! I was pretty happy about that.

Ok, I need to leave now. Lots of love to everyone. Will email again as soon as I can. Happy 1st birthdays to Ava and Eve. Sorry to miss this important milestone.

N

Advertisement



29th October 2006

Keep Safe
Hi Natalie! Keep safe and know that we are thinking of you! K
29th October 2006

Hi Natalie
Good to hear you're safe!!! And congratulations on being cited in a bookl!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb