The Rains are Here


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
October 6th 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

RainRainRain

The streets are just a little flooded. Lucky I'm on the 3rd floor.
So we've had a bit of rain lately.
Monsoon season has finally arrived and it pelted down. The weather was even slightly cool and pleasant for a while, but the roads flooded in minutes and the streets (most of which are not sealed) remain mud for weeks.
Had a few stacks on rickshaws when the wheel went into a drain (roads knee deep in water so very hard to tell), but a lovely brick wall caught my fall so I remained dry, had snap locked my phone, just in case!

It is my last week of prac! It's gone so fast (a little faster as I'm leaving a tad early to trek the Himalayas hehehe)!
I have finished interviewing 50 women factory workers about their knowledge on HIV/AIDS and sexual and reproductive health and am finalising my needs assessment this week. What I have found out is these women talk to no one about sexual and reproductive health, know virtually nothing about sexual and reproductive health, would love to talk to a female Dr about sexual and reproductive health and desperately need education about sexual and reproductive health. So hopefully JSK (my organisation) will take heed and employ a female
Interviewing factory workersInterviewing factory workersInterviewing factory workers

This woman works 72hrs a week, earns 1500 taka a month (AUD$30)that's 10c an hour. And has children and runs a home...
doctor. In a country where the menus say chicken broast because they are too modest to say breast, I think they are going to face some interesting challenges. But good luck to them!

Well Ramadam has started and things aren't as bad as I thought, they did however try to feed me Iftar (the breaking of the fast meal around 6pm) as well as lunch and dinner, but I'm getting good at refusing food. Work finishes at 3.30 so people can get back in time for Iftar, the traffic is crazy and CNG and taxi drivers will stop with the meter running to eat Iftar. I am learning not to be in a rush for anything.
It was Durba Puga last week. The Hindi festival where the main Godess and her children come to earth for 5 days and at the end all the statues are drowned in the river. (That is my limited understanding of the festival anyway) A workmate of Cameron's, Dwipok, invited us to a Durba Puja celebration and we got to see the story re-enacted. (In Arabic, then translated to Bangla, so I really didn't catch the jist of it) Once again there were huge
Durba PugaDurba PugaDurba Puga

Some of the intricate statues they will drown in the river.
crowds. Nic, Dwipok's daughter Pia and I got special seats up the front (women are sperate from men) and our photo taken by a journalist (I will be signing autographs later). There was also a guy dressed in a sharee (sari) (Banglas call a he-she) at the temple who wanted me to take his photo. Interesting...

You will be pleased to know, we watched the grandfinal! Dragged ourselves out of bed to get to the Australia club (a little Australian bubble in the middle of Dhaka city, where you don't have to wear an orna and can even eat bacon!) at 10.30, surrounded by vocal Sydney Swans supporters and dressed in team colours (I have never worn, no ever will again such a bright pair of yellow pants in my life!). It was a nice hot day and not humid at all so we went for a swim, it was just like home!
Yay the Eagles!


Near Death Orna Experience Count

since my orna has not tried to kill me this week, I feel I have been giving them a slightly bad rap. So here are a list of all the useful things ornas can be
Kids in slumKids in slumKids in slum

Street kids I made friends with. (spot the poser)
used for;
Wiping sweat (which constantly drips from your face).
Catching food which falls from your mouth (similar to a bib).
Can be used for an emergency sling if the need arises.
Wrapping around you to keep warm when going from hot and humid outside to cold airconditioned environment.

Since writing this, said orna has caught on CNG (3 wheel motor bike with enclosed seat at back for passengers) hence we are not friends again.

Bangla words I think you'll remember:
ashole: actually, indeed.

Bye for now.
All the best for the Nationals Tes!
Luv Carol



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Grand Final Day!Grand Final Day!
Grand Final Day!

Nic, Theo and I in Eagles coloured shawla kameez.
Side of busSide of bus
Side of bus

The traffic is a little... crazy. some buses don't have any windscreens left.


6th October 2006

Eagles outfit very catching!
Carol, loved your Eagles gear - very smart! Great to hear more news.. enjoy the treking and take lots of photos!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb