My New Friend - Rana


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
December 8th 2007
Published: December 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Shabbir - who heads BRACS's Bangladesh microcredit program (manages 29,000 people) had asked me what I was doing on Friday - their holy day - and when I told him that I had no plans he asked Rozina to set up a tour for me. My expectation was that they were setting up a commercial tour guide and car.

Instead what they had done was ask Rana, their Communications Officer to guide me, taking a BRAC vehicle and BRAC driver. Rana's office is near the Chairman and Founders office and Rana sets up all the tours for International visitors - as well as doing much of the Public Relations for BRAC. I knew I was in good hands when Rana told me of how he was in charge of Bill and Milinda Gates BRAC tour of Bangadesh and India.

Rana and I spent a most connecting day. Rana is 37 years old and started at BRAC as a Village Officer (the lowest rung on the latter) 17 years ago. Rana was not only very helpful in providing me more information of BRAC and its programs, but he was an excellent tour guide and new friend.

I was most greatful when he offered the have me visit his flat and meet his wife - which was most generous. He lives in a sixth floor flat in one of the nicer areas of Dhaka. It is very small - one bedroom, on kitchen/dining area, a bathroom and small balcony. His wife is 10 years younger then he. She receiver her Bachelors Degree in Sociology and Rana has been trying to help her find a job. She is very shy and is learning english and computers. I agreed that I will help her by sending back and forth very simple e-mails in English.

Rana and I shared much. We are both very committed to doing what we can to help the world be a better place, not only from our mutual work for the poor but to help each other get to know and appreciate one another.

The two gals in the last two pictures came up to me and wanted to have their pictures taken with me. Recognizing that it is not acceptable to touch Muslim women I was careful not to put my arms around them - but much to my surprise, the each took one of my hands and wrapped around their shoulders. When we had shot the photo - one stroked my arm like an American woman who is flirting. What a contrast this was from the photo of me with the original borrower in which I was standing straight and she was leaning away from me. Things are surely changing :-).

Rena and I are now new special friends - and committed to be friends for life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



11th December 2007

Great blog, Marty!
This blog is really terrific, Marty. You've done a great job explaining about Bangladesh, microcredit, even the sleeping accomodations. I think it's terrific that you're investigating this work so thoroughly. I hope to go to one of your presentations when you return. Best wishes and safe travels!

Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb