Sari sagas


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
September 28th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I guess the word saga has certain connotations to it. It wasn't all THAT bad. A little, but hey. Well, it started off by us gals heading off to a Bengali beauty parlour, yes you heard me, to be "assembled". It really is a complicated procedure. One that I could never achieve in 7 lifetimes. This involved heading into a changing room with 3 other AYADs and a multitude of sari technicians, some of which came and went as freely from the room as you would any other room minus self-conscious semi naked people. I felt a little exposed. Anyway, it took around 20 minutes and we were done. Very tightly around the stomach mind you. Regretted not amending this at the time, as I was filling my stomach with rice and chicken later in the evening. Going to the toilet in a sari is also a very delicate procedure. Well, I must say, we all looked lovely and very very colourful. I had decided to live life on the edge and wear some colour for once. I thought I'd chosen a nice purple, evidently it is more of a sky blue. Don't know how I missed that.

Later in the evening headed to the Australian consulate and had a few drinks on Australian turf. Having previously met the High Commissioner in the afternoon, I found myself in a conversation with him and a few other blokes over a beer or wine. He's actually a really down to earth bloke, and it was an easy conversation to hold. I was a bit daunted at first that I was by myself (I'm not always the most successful conversation starter) but we spoke of a wide range of topics, including antique washing machines, Bhutan, chewing gum in Singapore and a few lesser important things in life.

Having finished this blog, and started trying to figure out how to upload some photos, I have only just realised that the sari battle is only half over. I still have to get the damned thing off, plethora of safety pins and all. Crap.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.1kb