After a day in the hotel....


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
July 11th 2007
Published: July 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After feeling considerably overwhelmed yesterday, several hours emailing, blogging, and messenging made me feel much more up to it.... I got dinner here in the hotel (I guess they serve food 24 hours, insane!!) -- I had chicken tandoori and garlic naan (yum!) all for 250 tk which equals, um, just over $3!!! A huge bottle of water is 30 tk (less than 50 cents).

I showered, watched the tour de france (!) and slept for many hours, though woke up several times due to heat (I turned the a/c off silly girl), bizarre dreams, and lots and lots of honking as soon as the sun rose.

Jon has arrived, we're off to the institution we're working with, locally nicknamed the cholera hospital.

(several hours later...)

We had a really great day today, we met with all the people we'll be working with this summer, and I am now very very excited to be here and for the project! My own "side" project has really taken off on its own, it's really exciting and hopefully it will turn out well! After some normal first day anxiety, I am once againt thrilled to be working on this project!

I also therefore saw more of the city. The traffic truly is a nightmare. Traffic lights are a serious rarity and certainly paid no attention whatsoever. People have no concerns of walking straight into traffic. It is, well, what the stereotypes say!

I had an exciting development when Jon pointed out that our rooms come with ethernet cables! But... my wonder mac is totally failing and is completely incapable of finding an IP address... I've tried manually entering it, but no.... grrr!

I do have a local cell phone though! If anyone wants to call me, just email me for the number. It's been ringing over and over but with a number I can't answer... If that was any of you trying to call, then sorry! And I definitely don't understand... Otherwise perhaps it was the Bangladeshi welcome wagon.

Well, it's quite late and I have not only a full day tomorrow but also a birthday! I suppose I should have a good nights sleep before turning 28..... 😉

Advertisement



12th July 2007

HAPPY BRITHDAY!!!
Miranda, Happy Birthday! Have a wonderful day. Thinking of you and sending lots of love, Mom
12th July 2007

Happy Birthday!
Glad to hear you are having so much fun! I hope the project continues to go well. AAH isn't the same without you this summer. Have a fabulous birthday! Katie F.
12th July 2007

Happy Birthday!
Not sure what the time difference is, but it's not yet the 12th here so I must have the right day. Want to wish you a happy birthday, and we're all pleased to hear you're settling in. Although if you have no internet access yet, how are you still blogging?

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb