Orange is the New Grey


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
February 6th 2023
Published: February 6th 2023
Edit Blog Post

It didn't take long being in Bangladesh before I started to wonder about the men with orange beards and sometimes hair. I saw it on men from the security guard at my apartment to business men walking down the street. Like many foreigners, I assumed this had religious roots until I did some research. What I learned is that this is the latest fashion trend for older men in Bangladesh.

You will see shades from light orange to darker red on the beards, mustaches, and hair of older men here. They dye their white hair with flower based henna. They feel the bright color gives them a more vibrant and youthful look.

With majority of women covering their hair this fashion trend is almost exclusively for elderly men.

No need to ask Dad, I already bought some for you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb