Disney Store Caught In Scandal


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka » Dhaka
April 29th 2014
Published: April 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

When I was younger I visited the Disney Store maybe more than five times every two weeks. I loved Disney from then and still now. However, all things have bad things to them. When I read that the Disney Store was handling and allowing sweatshops to be enforced, I was heart-broken. The whole point of the Disney Store was to make children happy. In a sweatshop in Bangladesh in the Tazreen factory, around 112 workers were killed in a fire in the factory on November 2010. To find out something as depressing as this about my childhood store was astonishing and very tragic. To find out that children as young as my little brother are working in dirty, filthy air with unsanitary facilities is a very scary thing. Every bad thing I found out about this Disney Store it all hurt me because this store was a prime part of my childhood, and to find out that all the Minnie and Mickey mouse plush toys I had were hand-made with workers earning about 12 cents a day is heart wrenching. Even though the owner was charged for this atrocity, People, especially children, should be dehumanized this way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement




Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb