One day til wheels up


Advertisement
Afghanistan's flag
Asia » Afghanistan » East » Kabul
March 1st 2006
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am so excited. I leave for Dubai tomorrow. Today, I'm packing...and I NEVER pack ahead of time. I still haven't decided where I will stay in Dubai for Friday and Saturday night. I keep vacillating between being cheap or saying, "what the hell?" I ought to experience the Burj-al-Arab before I die.


Additional photos below
Photos: 1, Displayed: 1


Advertisement

Emergency survival kitEmergency survival kit
Emergency survival kit

My army training has taught me to be prepared for all contingencies.


1st March 2006

Love the preparedness
Sharon, I love the stash of necessities. What are you doing your dissertation on that brings you to Afghanistan? I hope the food supply arrives with you.
2nd March 2006

My dissertation
My PhD will be in Public Policy. For my dissertation, I'm comparing post-occupation levels of violence in Afghanistan vs. Iraq and trying to ascertain whether there are any discernable causes or correlations that can help explain the differentiation in the number and types of insurgent attacks against occupying forces and the new governments in each country.
3rd March 2006

Be safe!
ha ha ha Sharon... your food stash is like a mini-U.S. time capsule. You are a true U.S. ambassador, complete with Scooby Doo, Tony the Tiger, Toucan Sam, pop tarts... There is nothing quite like goat milk with your Fruit Loops! Be careful out there.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb