Problems Result in Fun


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » McMurdo Station
January 13th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SealSealSeal

I think this was from a different day. Another accidental B&W that turned out sweet
I got up early and called around to discuss our energy problems with the energy expert, Brian Cunningham, and our NSF point of contact, Brian Johnson, who is in charge of helping our group and also ensuring that we stick to our budget (fat chance!).

Brian C. grabbed some stuff and took us out to Willy Field in a Mattrack, a truck with 4 tank tracks instead of four wheels (pretty sweet). After a bunch of probing, we found that the batteries are dead, which is a huge on the budget being that they cost $1K each and there are 10 of them.

Nothing I could do with that for the day until I talked with my boss, so I went back early, finished my badly neglected book (still Therapy). Afterward I finished I went for a walk, realized my camera battery was depleted and that a lecture on hitchhiking was about to start, so I went back to town for a while.

McMurdo has several different types of lecture series to keep people entertained while they are on the ice. Most people take their jobs here, no matter how crappy, just for the adventure of being down here, and are actually quite successful with excellent jobs in the states. Others just use the money the make here to roam the world. Room and board is free, so whatever they make is profit.

The particular lecturer tonight has been hitchhiking on all seven continents for the last 9 years. He gave pointers, how-to's, warnings, etc. Quite a cool guy with some cool stories.

Later, I went for a hike to Scott base, intermittently running and taking pictures because I was too excited to walk. The view was supoib.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Scott BaseScott Base
Scott Base

thar she be
Entering NZEntering NZ
Entering NZ

Population: 16
Up CloseUp Close
Up Close

Kiwis are green...
DeltsDelts
Delts

It ain't so big
Adventure OverAdventure Over
Adventure Over

Back to the states.


16th January 2009

Is that you and Hyomin in the Scott Base and Pressure Ridge photos? I like that hat you're wearing.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb