Leaving the Pole


Advertisement
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

At the South PoleAt the South PoleAt the South Pole

Its about -54F with windchill in this photo.
I left South Pole on the 1300 flight back to McMurdo. I took some more photos at the pole marker and said goodbye to this remarkable place, wondering when I would be back. The flight home was easy. 8 souls on board and I got to ride in the cockpit during take off which was really fun. I napped most of the way back to station and arrived in time for a big dinner. Vessel Offload has started and Station is a little bit crazy. Lots of loaders and trucks are moving mil-vans around station and then down to the dock where they are being loaded onto the American Tern Vessel. Most of my friends in town are working night shifts and I think I am ready to head back to Christchurch.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Pole MarkerPole Marker
Pole Marker

This is a really strange photo. I think I look like a puppet
Ice SculptureIce Sculpture
Ice Sculpture

There are a number of ice sculptures out by the Pole marker. I think this is a yearly tradition.
LC-130 Skier LandingLC-130 Skier Landing
LC-130 Skier Landing

My flight has arrived!


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb