Spider Saga and Nshima lessons


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Chipata
February 9th 2007
Published: February 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

From Sarah:

Candice and I had our all time horrific spider saga! It was the worst yet, it took us 3 rounds before it finally succumbed!
When we got to the house the second night, there was a gargantuan sized spider, and that was only half of it, was poking its legs out, just taunting us. NOT COOL. So, Todd, Candice and I all tried to DOOM it and kill it, unfortunately for Candice it escaped. So we were getting ready to go to the hospital worship, when it decided to reapper, in her closet. I tried to smash it with the shoe a couple of times, but it would have none of it. It would just poke its beady eyes out and some of the legs. We decided we didn't have time for the games and went off to the hospital amidst a rush of adrenaline and ended up having to sit NEXT to one. They're everywhere! We got back home and it was out again, its time had come. So I got the DOOM and Candice had the shoe and the flyswatter, (Yes, the person terrified of spiders was on the front lines). So, we went in and we went in strong with our battle plan. I sprayed the DOOM all up and down the paneling, but nothing happened. I stuck my head back in, once the shrieking had calmed down, but nothing. I came out to update Candice when we looked and it came flying out after us. Screaming and yelling and running that you can't imagine ensued, for an indefinite amount of time. We watched from our corner of the room as it tried to run, it leaped out of the closet and grabbed onto the shelf with one leg and was swinging, (insert more shrieking and screaming). It landed on the floor and was still trying to walk, we leaped into action with plan B, smash it as hard as possible and as long as possible. We looked again and it twitched, (more shrieking) and some more smashing for a long period of time. We looked again and it was definitely dead this time. However, we wanted to ensure it wouldn't come back to life, so we flushed it in the toilet that flushes for like 20 minutes. Once the adrenaline had subsided, we decided that it was time for a much deserved nap, until vespers. That kind of spider was deemed the Spawn of Satan, or more affectionately, Lucifer. This last week, we helped in the pharmacy dispensing pills, taking inventory. We also went out on an outreach to the Lunyke village, with the Prevention of Mother To Children Transmission (PMTCT), the children saw their first white person. It was quite exciting for them.
Well, I'm going to let Candice talk to you. So I will talk to you all later.

From Candice:

Hello everyone! We have entered into our third week in Africa, second week at Mwami. I know where I am when I wake up so it's starting to feel like "home." Finding a place in the hospital, however, is quite a challenge. Here's my synopsis of the disoveries we have made working at the hospital. We went to organize the obstetrics office and found medical records from tons of random people stuffed in a drawer, so upon taking them to records to find out how they organize them, I realized, they don't really. There's no central location for a person's medical history, and patients are given a hospital number that is completely dependent on the year they are seen. There is no way to locate these people or for them to find those records unless they have a copy or know when they were seen. Sarah and I are appalled, having worked at the clinic at Walla Walla for quite some time. It's been eye-opening. We spent this past Wed. at the pharmacy where we were allowed to dispense drugs almost the moment we got there. We always have these moments like WOW, this would be sooo illegal in the states. We looked at their inventory and immediately found that they don't keep good records as to what is coming in and out, though there are always complaints that there are not enough drugs. Administration woes indeed. But we can't do any advising without a diploma, at least that is the popular opinion so we are frustrated sometimes. The people are more than wonderful to work with though, which makes us more hesitant to step on toes. They took us out with outreach yesterday and I was involved in dispending contraceptives to women. I can not pronounce any of the names, but after awhile I realied that they too have their Smiths, Andersons and Johnsons. Zulus, Bandas, and Phiris. The kids mobbed us for the crayons once they stopped scattering everytime we looked at them. We were definately an attraction and a source of amusement. We're getting used to the norms here: looking like a spectacle, not understanding Nyanja, bouncing around on their African roads, and being pursued by nasty critters. All in all, I like it more every day. Making friends is challenging but comparing US to Africa is always a good conversation starter. Anyhow, Muli Bwanji! And goodbye till later.

Advertisement



10th February 2007

Spider Queen
well dear I am impressed and very amused. It is very nice to know that you are surviving over there. Here it is about the same as when you left. gray / cloudy/ rainy/ and cold/. I have officially stopped working in the youth class because I was getting way to many things on my plate and I couldn't be as supportive as they really needed. But things are going well there. our cat is crazy as you have heard but he is very snuggly one minute and very hyper the next. (running from one end of the house to the other and running in circles.) Well your in our prays. Love ya
18th February 2007

my hero
My goodness Sarah! Africa is really training you well for our next camping trip when you have another tiny little bug on your shirt. I am glad to hear you are braving the spiders. I have creapy crawlies on my right now just thinking about it. Its a good think Jeremy doesn't know I just read this or he would have "spider fingers" on me right now making it worse. Nothing here is quite as exciting as that. My house is free of cocroaches for the time being but I do have daddy long leg type spiders in here all the time. The crickets have left for now but they will be back. One would think that living in So. Cal. I wouldn't have to put up with so many bugs. Ha Ha. Just so you know. Grandpa and Grandma Harvey are setteling in to College Place rather well. Grandma has been busy getting the house more like a home with curtins and such things. She is quite excited. Grandpa was in the Hospital for a while but he is home now and they fiured out what was wrong so he feels better now. Can't wait to see you when you get back. Love Ya.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb