WORLD TRAVEL


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Eastern Region » Soroti
January 10th 2010
Published: January 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

WORLD TRAVEL

I live in a town of well-traveled people, Boulder, CO, and am doing my best to perpetuate that reputation. I love to travel, to immerse myself in diverse cultures, adapt to foreign customs, and taste exotic foods (within limits!). I am fluent in English and German and get by in French and Spanish. I have been to 130 countries and all seven continents and have lived in Europe and Africa, as well as the U.S.

I hitchhiked in my younger days in the U.S., Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and through every country in Latin America. Friends said, “Just wait till you’re married. Well, on our honeymoon Debbie and I did West Africa. In Asia we “hitchhiked” a ship and an airplane and learned some valuable lessons. Then they said, “Just wait till kids come along. So when our son, Karsten, was born we moved to Holland. When our daughter, Misha, was born we moved to East Africa.

Since then we have added Australia and Antarctica. We are leaving the end of January 2010 for the South Pacific and Southeast Asia.

Budget travel is still our specialty. We have oodles of Lonely Planet books and now find that the Internet is a huge help for booking flights, B&Bs, hostels and hotels. We have exchanged our backpacks for carry-ons, and find them sufficient for efficient movement and the bonus of no lost bags.

So what’s your travel bag? Any questions?



Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb