Adventure sports!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Eastern Region » Jinja
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First of all, while my parents were here, Andy also arrived! We all had a few days in Mbale, showing them TASO, our work, and the cool waterfalls nearby.

On the way back to Kampala to drop my parents off and head to another adventure, we did all sorts of adventure sports and had exciting times! We stopped in Jinja, which is a lovely town with many "mzungus" due to it being The Source of the Nile and host to many NGOs. First stop, Adrift, where Suzy and Andy went bungee jumping!

It was amazing. I tried to jump, but I just couldn't make myself. It could have something to do with my vertigo, fear of heights, and fear of falling over edges... hmm. Anyway, I felt really good that I tried, and of course, the others did an awesome job jumping! It's 144 feet, or 42 meters (I think) over the river! I'll try to upload photos...

After this excitement, Suzy went to Kampala to join Belinda, who had gone ahead to wait for Stina, her sister, who was coming the next morning. My parents, Andy, and I had a great evening in Jinja, dining at the Gately on the Nile - delicious! And having several "Nile Special" beers - brewed there in Jinja.

Next day, my parents headed to Entebbe and Andy and I went white water rafting!! It was totally awesome. We went along with a bunch of other people in 4 rafts. You could choose either "mild" or "wild" - and which did we choose? I mean, if you're rafting the Nile, you just have to do it WILD, eh? And boy was it wild. Our guide, Geoffrey, was really good at instructing us on how to paddle, "get down!", and what to do if we flipped over. Which we did. 4 times - if you count the plactice run. The three in the rapids were crazy, and, yeah, I kindof thought I might drown. But it was awesome!!

Okay, more later...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Suzy dangling!Suzy dangling!
Suzy dangling!

These guys in the boat catch you dangling and help you get in the boat. Go Suzy!
The victors!The victors!
The victors!

"At the end of the day, you deserve it! " - Nile Special Beer


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb