What can you get on the back of a bicycle?


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
August 12th 2006
Published: August 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I really thought I'd seen the most bizarre things on the back of bikes until last weekend. I'd seen: several people, live chickens, live goats, a pile of firewood higher than the rider, four crates of sodas, charcoal, bananas etc...

But last weekend took the biscuit! I was heading back on my boda-boda, so unfortunately couldn't get a photo, when I saw a carpenter loading a solid wooden single bed frame on to the back of a push bike, obviously going to deliver it!

I've started using my video camera a bit this week, though feel very self conscious to have something that costs so much. The children at school just love looking at the screen and so it's quite hard to film as I have a swarm of children as soon as they see it coming out of my bag!
I have done a 'tour' of my house too, the other lady who lives in the house - Amoti - was very shy at first, but has now appeared on screen! She was altogether more wary of me, until she saw that I would muck in with the washing, ironing etc. The other night we had a nicegirly session with the hand cream that Vanessa sent!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb