Family Photos


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
August 5th 2006
Published: August 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Family is a really BIG part of African life and so often when I go to visit people we pend time looking through their photo album. This is usually special occasions: first communion, weddings, thanksgivings, graduation etc. I've given up trying to keep track of Atenyi's family tree as the extended family often lives within the home and a niece may then be called a daughter ( if her parents have died) etc. Death is such a common thing here and people seem keen to remarry if they are widowed so then the whole step brother/sister/son daughter complicates things further.

They love looking at the few photos that I have brought out with me. The comments are usually on the lines of 'Isn't he tall?' (Dad), 'Don't you look like her?' (Mum) 'Only one?' (Damian- brother and Vanessa/Chris/Emma - Aunt,Uncle, Cousin). They always study the photo of Nicky closely when I explain that she went to South Africa and introduced me to Link. ( By the way, where would I be without your headtorch and liner, Nic, you're a star!) And they just can't believe that my grandparents are 90, especially when I show the photo of Abbie playing golf with Oliie and Danny on her 90th, complete with glass of champagne!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb