Cause this is Africa!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
August 21st 2011
Published: August 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! Sorry it has been a while since I have written an entry but I've been quite busy in Uganda.
Let me just say, this place is AMAZING. I have been here for almost 3 weeks now. Wow! So because of our busy schedule and the fact that the power here goes out all the time I hardly ever get a long computer sesh. So basically there are all these issues with the government and the electric companies and so they turn the power off every day at some point, its so annoying and thus disables me from getting on here regularly. So I pray that this blog makes it and im not cut off! But who knows. Well I guess if you are reading this then it made it, so Praise God!

Anyway so yes I am in Ntinda, Kampala, Uganda. I am volunteering with the oganisation Empower a Child and it is going so wonderfully. The team has changed a little, a few people have left over the last couple of weeks but we have also gained a few volunteers, one girl from Texas and one girl from England. The team is awesome, I just feel like we are all family and it is such an added blessing to this trip. Honestly, I just didnt expect to meet such awesome people. I dont think i even thought I would meet so many people here, I thought Europe was the last of meeting people from all over the world but it turns out I have met awesome Ugandans AND such a beautiful team of volunteers from other places in the world. Its great also because we all plan on visiting each other, so I hope it really does happen! Its so awesome cause two of the volunteers Jillian and Bryan are married and are coming to Australia straight after this and so im so excited to see them again and show them around and hang out with them. They are planning to be in Sydney for a few months and then Melbourne and travel around Australia a bit too so that will be so awesome!! Its hilarious as we have been reading through these Australian travel guide thingys and they are just gold. The funniest thing was that it called the Australian dialect 'Strine' hahaha what the heck? I have never heard of that word in my life, and im pretty sure im not the only one. But yeah the books are so funny and also I have been teaching them all sorts of words and abbreviations so its making me really excited to show them around and take them surfing and stuff. I was showing J some pictures of me and my friends at the beach and a few people had gathered around the computer going 'woooahhhhh!' everyone couldnt believe i lived there and they thought it was so cool, it was so funny cause its just so normal for me haha and oh boy do i miss the beach!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So yeah the team is awesome, basically our days consist of getting up around 7am and having brekkie and then getting dressed and then having a devotion and doing worship and then prayer and then we go to one project and then come back and have lunch and then go to another project or have something else on and then come home and have dinner and devotions and then just sleep and rest and hang out together. It really is loads of fun too, we usually play games together and watch movies and its nice to chill out with some awesome guys after working hard all day. We usually go to bed so early too as we are always so exhausted. We went to bed around 11pm the other night as we had a farewell party for Ivan who is part of the Ugandan staff and everyone was soo dead the next day it was hilarious!
Oh wow i appreciate the Saturday sleep ins so much! 😊
So anyway we do the different projects Monday through Friday and then on saturdays we chill out and sundays we go to church and sometimes to the craft market (which has totally awesome cool african crafts).
So basically the different projects we do are going to primary schools, and babies homes, a detention centre,and we help out different places with chores and things that need to get done and a whole heap of different stuff.
I really love the babies homes. We went to one the other day and it was such a funny project. usually we help make the beds and clean the floors and fold and sort sheets and clothes and then we go feed and help change and play with the little babies and this time me and Jill were pulled over to a room full of toddlers who were crazy!!! Firstly me and Jill were cleaning and making beds and all the little toddlers run into our room naked and wet as they had all had baths and they are sooo cute and wiggly and we had to keep picking them up and taking them back to where they were supposed to be. Then we were told to look after them in a different room. So we ran over and they had all escaped from a room and so we had to keep running after them and putting them back in the room but they all kept escaping and running away it was the funniest thing they were so cheeky and so cute but it was so exhausting haha! It went on for so long, we just kept running after them and shoving them back in their room and there was no teacher or supervisor there so it was just so funny. Eventually we got them all back in the room and shut the door and then a few mins later the teacher comes along and says 'okay we are going to play outside today' so they all ran out and it was just all that effort for nothing but it was HILARIOUS and such a funny experience i loved it and will never forget it haha!!
So the babies homes are great, we usually hang lots of washing on the lines too and after all the chores we get to play with the cute cute cute babies! Oh they are so cute!

So this past week and the first week I got here were normal projects but in the second week we went an camped out in the village of Zirobwe. That was an INCREDIBLE experience and very eye opening but in fear of the power going out I will have to bring this entry to an end and fill you in on that next time.
I have learnt so much so far and am excited for all that is to come!
I have been so blessed with many opportunities to share my faith and to tell stories to the kids and share my testimony and lead devotions and serve in the house and many times in the projects and just wanted to let you all know that this is such a life changing trip for me and I know I am forever changed so thankyou for all being so interested and praying and thinking of me,.
God is so so so so good and is just so evident in all of the teams lives and it is very encouraging to me. It is awesome to be able to have so much time to spend with the Lord and learning about him. This week we are doing a bible study on Ephesians and doing some fasting too. If you could all keep praying for me, for protection and health and that the projects would keep running smoothly and that I will have many more opportunities to love on others and share Jesus' love and to share his gospel and speak of his name throughout Uganda.

Here is a quick verse of encouragement.
John 15:15-17
'I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his masters business. Instead I have called you friends, for everything that I have learned from my father I have made know to you. You did not choose me but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit - fruit that will last. Then the Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. This is my command: Love each other.'

love you all and miss you too much x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb