Wedding Day


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
July 11th 2009
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wedding day was today. Wow.

It was supposed to start at 11, so some people wanted to leave the house at 9. Harriet told us that it was “impossible” for the wedding to begin before 11:30, so we needn’t rush. I’m glad we didn’t. We got pulled over on the way to the church, making us later, and we got there (some people a bit stressed) at almost 11:30 and no one was there yet. The wedding started around 11:55, which, we’re told, is early.

The ceremony was nice. Prossy’s dad did the honors and took some time to preach before actually getting to the ceremony. The One Voice choir sang some songs, which were awesome. There was nothing really different about it from a Western wedding. Except they did the “I Dos” before the vows, so they agreed that this was who they wanted to be with and then explained what they would do in the vows.

Then there was a break between the wedding and the reception for a few hours so they could take pictures, and we headed for lunch. There were about 8 of us, which was a good group, and we found some chow and an internet café.

The reception was wonderful. Honestly, I missed some of it because I was having a great conversation with a new friend about how to change the world- you know, usual wedding chatter. So we missed some toasts and things. One Voice did a few songs and dances, which were great again, and there was food. It was my first time eating regular straight pumpkin, but I didn’t get to eat much more because, again, I was having some cool conversations. There was great chocolate cake with ice cream! The ice cream was made with real cream, I’m sure of it, and was the best ice cream I think I’ve ever had! Prossy and Jordan also gave a few gifts to people who have shaped their lives.

Afterwards, there was lots of dancing! And, have I mentioned, Africans can DANCE! It was a great party!

We had power when we got home, which was a great gift.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb