Sleepless in...Kampala


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
January 17th 2009
Published: January 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I hope that you all picked up on the movie title hinted at in the title of this blog entry and shame on you if you didn’t. Okay, well, you don’t have to feel ashamed. Anyways:

So I have been in Kampala now for almost 4 days and I figured it was time to talk a little bit more about my experience thus far. To get some more menial observations out of the way, the nightlife is booming. I haven’t actually been out and don’t necessarily plan on it anytime soon but I have noticed that the party continues much of the night. There are at least 2 clubs in proximity to the hotel at which Val and I are staying. I woke up at 4:30 in the morning 2 nights ago and still heard music blaring. Valerie’s room is actually 15 feet from the roof level of another club. Yikes! Thankfully I am able to sleep through it, but it does wake me up a few times each night. I’m coping. It sounds like they’re just getting started right now as I write this…or maybe its just the same party from last night.

The traffic is horrendous. DC and New York eat your heart out. For one thing, they drive on the wrong side of the road (British style). Also, there seem to be few traffic lights and so its just kind of a free-for-all. But more importantly, there’s just a ton of people (1.5 million). Well, they’re not all passing by my hotel, but there’s a ton of them. There are modes of transportation called “boda-bodas” which are motorcycles/mopeds all around the city. Its probably the fastest way to get where you need to go, but its not always the safest way to go. I assumed that if they were wearing a helmet that they were seemingly responsible…boy was I wrong. Val and I have used them a couple of times since we arrived. Also, there are plenty of taxis. That’s probably the slowest way to travel…the one you choose when you really don’t care what time you get to the place you want to go. Usually they try to fill up the taxi (van) with as many people as they can. There are probably some other things that I can tell you about, they are just slipping my mind at this point.

Oh, and everyone loves Obama.

We have been to our office a couple of times in the last few days. The first day we were not expected due to the fact that we had just arrived into the country. I guess I can understand that. The second day we met with more of the staff, the ones with which we are more likely to be working. I was feeling sort of left out that day because it seemed like more of the information we were getting was specifically for Val, leaving me wondering where I am supposed to fit in/what I’m supposed to be doing. However, yesterday I met with a lady who works in the social support services division. She gave me somewhat of a rundown on what they are doing in the area of youth prevention of HIV/AIDS and specifically as it is related or can be joined with sports. I still have one more meeting which will be on Monday or Tuesday of next week which will give me further direction.

That day in the office was a good day because we had the opportunity to meet the founder of the organization for which we work—TASO (The AIDS Support Organization). She doesn’t work for the organization anymore but comes around every now and again when she’s not flying all over the world being an advocate for people living with HIV/AIDS. Today was a great day too because Val and I were able to meet a woman whose name is Lydia. Today was her 50th birthday. She has HIV/AIDS and has had it since birth. She has been an incredible inspiration to not only those living with or affected by HIV/AIDS but also to those who are doing this work. She was abandoned but taken in and has come this far. She works tirelessly so it is said and has encouraged many people. TASO’s main philosophy is “Living Positively with HIV/AIDS” and they believe that the positive aspect is crucial to persevering against the virus and disease. She is a great example, and there are others who’ve been helped by TASO as well in this way.

One thing that has been very beneficial for me thus far has been the gratitude to God expressed by so many people thus far (at least all of the TASO staff and patients or other partners). Regardless of what the circumstances are surrounding that thanksgiving, its just a good reminder to me to be thankful to God. I am very quick to perhaps thank God for material provisions, but I have realized that I am not quick to recall the prayers God has answered, whatever they may be.

Lastly, and perhaps you all knew this was coming, its been difficult to see lots of poverty. When I Val and I went to Lydia’s birthday party today, we passed by many slums or it might have been just one really large one. Between the hotel in which I am staying, which is on a hill, and the university on another hill lies a slum. Everyday someone holds out their hand to us as we pass by. I don’t have any thoughts yet as I am still processing what my long-term response is going to be. Unfortunately, I am just going to end on that note.

Okay, nevermind, I am going to church tomorrow morning. And when I say morning, I mean morning. The service starts at 8:30. Anyways, I am looking forward to it…



Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb