Last 24 hours


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
September 24th 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I have about 24 hours left in Uganda.
I'm excited to be going, especially since in like 48 hours I will be on Zanzibar island. Forget it, if you don't know it. If you do know it, I know you are jealous.
Oh but don't be too jealous. I do have 30 hours on a bus first... but it is a nice bus, so I hear.

As far as leaving Uganda. It feels good and strange. The teachers are having a going away party for me this evening.
That will be nice. Actually I spent the better part of last week telling various people around the area that I was leaving. Most expressed regret, and I have to admit that I am going to miss them as well. I have gotten used to this place. But it is time to go.
I think last week, I had more to say on this subject, but today I don't. Oh well.

I did do one last weekender trip away from Kamapala. We took a short weekend up to Sipi Falls around Mt. Elgon. Quite a spectacular place. Unlike the west, the east of Uganda is very flat, well except for Mt. Elgon ... the 3rd highest peak in Africa. It is a solitary massif, not part of a range. When looking one way, you see a mountain and it is big and steep. Off the other side is a flat plain in the valley below.
Sorry, I don't have a good tail, but the pictures are pretty good I think. Oh yeah, there are 3 falls that compose Sipi Falls.
The falls are 90 meters, 70 meters and 70 meters or something like that. You can see all 3 in some pictures if you look carefully. We hiked up and checked them all out. Though the water is too high this time of year to swim. (Oh yeah, flooding and all)

Click here to see them
Of course in true form I'm fighting with the internet and computer system so I they might not be the best organized I can do. (No I don't speak english properly anymore either)





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb