It did taste as bad as it looks


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Entebbe
July 8th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Drinking Beer!Drinking Beer!Drinking Beer!

Well I think this Ajona stuff counts as beer?
This is called Ajona, and yes it does taste as bad as it looks. It was quite an experience though, too end the day and head off into the local township or village and basically sit around and drink (very sour) beer with the locals.

I bought a straw and had more than one sip, maybe ten in all? It was interesting, its served warm as they continually add more hot water and mix as the night goes on. It was funny as when I came they were on a small bucket, then they changed to a medium bucket, and by the end of the night we were on a BIG bucket.

the straws are hollowed out sticks, with filters at the end in the diarrhea mix. Not sure what the filter was made of but it seemed to get most of the... crap out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Ajona CloseupAjona Closeup
Ajona Closeup

Go on take a closer look, I know you want to.


9th August 2009

Spreading Ignorance
What you're insultingly talking about is "Ajono" a locally brewed beer mostly found in Eastern Uganda. It's made of millet flour. It's vey hygienic because it has to be mixed with boiling water in order to be drunk. It's also nutritious, as millet is a rich source of iron. You could very easily have asked your Ugandan colleagues how it is prepared, but no, you went ahead to call it diarrhea mix. A travel blog should be informative and educative, but if you simply write desparaging stuff about other people's culture and food, it only serves one purpose: perpetuate Western ignorance about Africa. Much like CNN/BBC with their paracute journalism. Your arrogance and bigotry will not help you at all and I'm not sure you learnt much
14th August 2009

I love the hypocrisy
You have to leave freedom of speech comments even if you don't like them. Having said that, thanks for explaining and providing some information on the Ajono. Of course me being me, it needs to be said that it appears you have some issues against westerners that should be addressed. I don't have Ajono where I come from, and I was describing it in such a way to make my readers squirm. Yes I lack the knowledge regarding the drink, but ignorant? Perhaps you are ignorant over the reality that we have no such drinks where I come from, and I was describing the experience as opposed to the recipe. Just because information is conveyed in a way you don't like, doesn't make it wrong or ignorant (although if i spelt the word wrong then I stand corrected for that, however the experience and description is another matter...). Funny how you have become, what you thought I was?

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb