warming up to fly home


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Entebbe
April 12th 2007
Published: April 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

5 a.m. is a terrible time to be setting off to Entebbe. Already the temperature is warm and humidity high. We loaded Mohammed's red hippy bus for the last time, wondering why it is that bags seem heavier on the way home. Students rather fractious this morning, accusing people of losing their torches, cigarettes, make up, gifts etc. Sade is staying in Kampala for a few days but she got up to see the others off, which was nice. It was still dark when we set off to the airport, and the sky lightened over Lake Victoria as we arrived. Mohammed did rather well since, in addition to a substantial tip he was the surprised recipient of a bag full of pumpkins and yams that Amina's aunt had given her but which she can not bring through customs.
I hope the others bring good reports of Gorilla gorilla beringei...
Goodbye red bus, temporary goodbye to Phil who has inspired us all; until next time Uganda!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



14th April 2007

Fab blog
I have so much enjoyed reading about your travels. I think I will have to put my name down for next time. I LOVE African food!! Marian
21st April 2007

madly envious
I know envy isn't a pretty quality, but I desperately want to go to uganda. your blog was good read. I expect you to fill in the many gaps at our next coffee. Ux
3rd May 2007

Thank-you for sharing your journey with us, you seem to have captured the atmosphere and the culture of Uganda really well.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb