Togo Togo


Advertisement
Togo's flag
Africa » Togo » Atakpam
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As promised I found some time to write some more about what I'm doing besides taking adventurous vacations in Ghana.

My main challenge right now is getting ready to move and transition my work from Elavagnon to the much larger regional hub of Atakpame. Themove will take place at the end of July, but I am already working with Cate & Wayne, the current Atakpame SED (Small Enterprise Development) volunteers to prepare myself. They have been introducing me to their contacts, taking me to meetings, and giving me lots of insider information that 2 years of experience here as well as a lot of wisdom have afforded them. I've conducted another strategic planning seminar with the two organizations I'll principally be working with (CREJE and AKARALE, both working with people living with HIV/AIDS and receiving grants to open internet cafes to sustain their organizations and reach out to more youth). I'm hoping that at least one of them is willing to go through the full planning process after I've moved here, and this work could possibly turn into my grad school Degree Project. As a married couple working together, Cate & Wayne are leaving some big shoes to fill, so I'll have to pick and choose the other projects I want to involve myself in: a Kente cloth weaver with entrepeneurial ambitions; two womens Savings & Loan groups that are functioning well; a host of other NGOs and mass awareness campaigns; and some personal friends of mine who have their own business ideas. I predict a charged schedule as soon as I move in August, but at least I am taking advantage of this window period to get to know my new counterparts so I'll be ready to jump right in.

Meanwhile, I have to try my best not to neglect my village too much because I would not be replaced their until late August and because I care so much for my friends and neighbors there. I currently have two HIV/AIDS awareness projects pending. We are just waiting for money from PSI and then we will get started. The first is a continuation of Worls AIDS Day that will reach out to smaller villages through folk and theater groups performing about HIV education. The second is a similar campaign in all of the area middle schools. Besides this, my gardeningclub is unfortunately defunct (my first failed project - the kids simply didn't want to water, and now that the rains have comeits too late), but I hope that my replacement will revive it. And since ithas been so unbearably hot in my village, where I have no electricity or escape from the heat, I have been spending a lot more time here in Atakpame. But the rains are bringing cooler days and nights (along with mosqitoes) so I'll try to finish with a bang in my village.

And to top all of this off, I have a few Peace Corps wide projects going on. I will be a counselor for both Cape UNITE (for young apprentices and students) and ESPOIR (for HIV positive children). In the first case I am also coordinating a host of campers and trainers participating from my village. And I am co-National Chairman for this year's AIDS Ride even in October, so this summer we will be busy organizing, writing grans for funding, and planning the routes in each region. All of these projects are keeping me busy and making the time fly.

The second half of June my other, often neglected but much loved, support system will be coming to Togo: my parents! This will be their first trip outside of North America and I'm gonna take things a lot moreslowly with them since they will only have 8 days here. I wantthem to absorb more of the village lifestyle since they expressed interest and since my friends will be so happy to meet and get to know them. Of course French will be a barrier but I dont mind translating.

So thats my life these days - always seems so much more busy when I write it down life this. In reality I think its impossible to not take things a little slowlyhere in Africa, at least compared to the fast paced American lifestyle. But then I will always be a workaholic American like it or not! And to be honest, here my happeiness is closely linked to how productive and useful I feel in my community.

So all is well and I love hearing from everyone. Take care!

Steve

Advertisement



21st June 2007

thankvo kodjogan
stevo c'est danny je suis bien hereux de ton travaille dans mon pays car j'ais bien aimer tout tes proger et tu serais un bon chef de se club un jour i wich u all the best take care and talk to u soon danny
6th July 2007

Hello From NY
Hey Steveo. I am so glad to here that you are doing well. everything that you are doing is so... well actually its a turn on. ha. I can't believe you've been there for a year. Its seems longer. I just calculated it and you will be back in the states in september of 08. I know that I don't write at all. but that doesn't mean that my thoughts aren't with you. I will try to be more consistent. you be safe now. T

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb