Door heaven - Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
August 14th 2006
Published: April 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Tembo to Iringa, with Zanzibar in between

Tembo to Dar es Salaam to Zanzibar StoneTown. Up to Nungwi Beach, back to StoneTown, then to Jozani Forest, back to Stone Town then to Dar es Salaam. Then to Iringa

14th Aug Monday DAY 24 TEMBO - DAR ES SALAAM

Today we drove to Dar Es Salaam (Dar) and again my card wouldn't work so I again had to borrow cash from Robin. We all cracked up back at the bus as Ollie and Dave had bought some new TEXIAN knickers and they had to run back and get bigger sizes, but we had to wait for them in the stinking hot irritating truck. We caught a 10min ferry over to our campsite, which is located right on the beach. We went straight in for a swim to cool off and we mucked around with the Volleyball and it wasn’t only me pissed off this time as the Swiss sisters decided to take advantage of the game and be all over the boys. The water was beautiful and I stayed in the longest to get some time to myself.

After the buffet dinner everyone had vodka slushies trying in a poor attempt to beat Helens record. They were brain-freezing material so no sculling for me. Robin got absolutely hammered as she joined in on the drinking games. I just sat around talking and watching everyone else drink themselves stupid, requesting Midnight Oil and having a laugh. I sent myself to bed when the shots came out and didn’t even hear Robin come in after me.

15th Aug Tuesday DAY 25 DAR ES SALAAM - ZANZIBAR

We left Macardi Beach around 8am (Robin had a rotten hangover so I packed the tent down for us) then caught the two ferries over to Zanzibar. On the ferry I tried to settle in listening to my ipod and wasn’t feeling hung-over or sick at all until about 1/2 hr into the trip, as it was quite rocky. I hardly ever get travel sickness but I headed up to the front to get fresh air. I saw Cat (the other Acacia truck was with us) and tried to chat but I really thought I was going to chuck!! I managed to hold it back, and headed quickly to the back of the boat and once in the shade I managed to get some sleep even next to the loud generator.

We arrived around 1pm, buggered around with immigration and then went to Hotel Kiponda and we actually have a bed and our own bathroom, but not focusing on the funny smell (nothing funny about it...) Everyone else took off so Robin and I did our own thing; getting ourselves lost in the cobble stoned picturesque streets of STONETOWN. I instantly fell in love with it even though we were constantly being hassled. We both bought some African art after driving a hard bargain of course and then I noticed the amazing doors that were everywhere. Each one decorative in its own way, and the artist showed me a book called "The doors of Zanzibar" I was impressed that there was a whole book dedicated to all these doors. I think I took a photo of everyone that I saw. We then bargained for some beautiful scarves and headed back to get ready for our night in town. We borrowed Helens hair dryer but my hair was still afro! We met everyone else at Africa House to have a drink and watch the sunset and man, what a sunset! It was absolutely stunning and the palm tree in front was perfect, my first sunset over the Indian Ocean. It was too expensive to buy a drink so I didn’t bother, but everyone else did.

For dinner we headed to the Zanzibar fish markets and I lost Robin so I made my way round with Emma and Sarah, trying to bargain over fish! I ended up with a stick of tuna, lobster, crab, potato cake and chapatti for 5500 Tzn (4 $US). The lobster wasn’t actually lobster and I had trouble with the crab, but it was definitely an experience. Millions of cats surrounded us, which freaked me out. I waited for ages to get desert of banana and choc pancake, which was tiny and not as good as Thailand’s. We all made our way to Mercury's Bar (Freddie Mercury was born in Zanzibar) to get a drink but we were all pretty buggered so it wasn’t a late one. I slept under a mosquito net and I may as well of been sleeping on a rock, I wouldn’t have known the difference, I would have preferred the mat from the tent.

16th Aug Wednesday DAY 26 ZANZIBAR STONETOWN - NUNGWI BEACH

Everyone went on the Spice Tour this morning but Robin and I decided not too. We instead walked around town with Helen, looking at all the beautiful doors, the fort, and general scenery; seeing parts that we perhaps would have missed. All back at the hotel we got our transfer to the beach in little mini vans. It was hot and sticky and delayed as the driver slowly packed the van and the other passengers took their time getting in. Eventually we made it to Sunset Beach, our stop for the next few days. After some hassle with the room we were pretty happy as we got 2 large king-single 4-poster beds with bathroom. We were supposed to be here for 3 nights but they only booked us for 2! We were not happy but headed straight down to the beach to join everyone. Robin went to get her hair braided while I got a massage and had a great swim. We bumped into Cat, Sarah, Marques, Dandy and Jill (who had to change trucks) and they also joined all of us for dinner on the beach, which was very cool. Sarah had a good chat to me on the beach about trying not to let things get to me like they have been since starting the tour. I feel like I am always pissed off about something or someone, mainly the Swiss sisters and guys I
Enjoying a few drinksEnjoying a few drinksEnjoying a few drinks

Copyright Group 2
guess, they just make me sick. After dinner there was some dancing with Manu even giving us some belly dancing, there was even a Masai security man having a dance! I stayed up pretty late and even got to dance to Kylie before going to bed. I made it just out the door and then heard another Kylie song so danced on the beach looking up at the stars, then went to bed, feeling frustrated and angry.

17th Aug Thurs DAY 27 NUNGWI BEACH

After a bit of a sleep in I had a nice relaxing day on the beach, Robin went diving and people went snorkeling, I even got a little burnt! When everyone got back some of us played cricket on the beach and it was THE best game of my life, I was throwing excellent, caught 3 catches; all excellent, and had to declare as no one could get me out!!!

The water was beautiful and I ended up eating away from the group, choosing to eat with the guys from the last group (Uganda trip). It was nice not having the big crowd around, the food was very chewy chewy though! Contemplating staying another night here with Cat to get away from the group (not Robin) but its going to be expensive.

18th Aug Friday DAY 28 NUNGWI BEACH - STONETOWN

When I woke up I decided I couldn’t afford to stay the extra night, but it would have been good to hang out with Cat. I took myself after breakfast on a nice peaceful walk, soaking it all up on my own and I think after 6 months of spending so much time on my own, I'm actually missing it! Some people either don’t make an effort or don’t give a shit, they stick to their own groups and I feel like I am back in high school. I hate it. So I took the time to be alone and hang out on the beach with the sand, waves, and sun. We did get some games of volleyball in before being squashed back into the mini van.

Back in Stonetown we girls are in a very cool dorm at Karibu Inn complete with fridge and AC. We again headed back to Africa House to witness yet another awesome sunset. This time I had a beer! We again ended up losing people and spending our time looking for everyone, but ended up at Archep and found a few others in there. I wasn’t in the best of moods, but my sticky date pudding with caramel sauce was amazing, Robin is lucky I shared some with her it was that good! Slept in a very lumpy bed!

19th Aug Sat DAY 29 STONETOWN - DAR ES SALAAM

Robin and I got up early to head to the Jozani forest further south with Sarah and Emma joining us. We passed lots of mud brick drying areas and it made me think of Joanne. Speed humps have been put in on the road and since then, less Red Colobus Monkeys (indigenous to Zanzibar) have been hit by cars. The first part of the guided walk took us into the Coral Forest (with actual coral) that used to be a plantation of mahogany but 50 years ago they turned it into a national park. About 2 mins into the walk Sarah almost stepped on a baby forest cobra and it was only when the guide pointed it out that she jumped a mile into the air. It was so good to be
Beautiful StoneTownBeautiful StoneTownBeautiful StoneTown

Copyright Robin
doing a bush walk instead of being in the truck. It was very much like a rainforest and there were these little cute frogs jumping around everywhere. After about 1/2 hour we crossed the road (with the speed humps) and there were Red Colobus Monkeys all around us. Not bothered one bit by us. They are endangered with only 2500 in Africa and around 1500 of those in Zanzibar. We even saw the cutest little baby; they all have such adorable faces.

Once back in Stonetown we had a little time free time, which I occupied with a beautiful Mississippi mud cake. We said bye to Jill and Dandy and squished back into the mini van for the 2 min drive to immigration. On the ferry I spent all my time at the back listening to Coldplay and Jack Johnson the whole way with Sarah. I was disgraced when I saw a local just throw an empty bottle into the ocean. Once back in Dar I managed to get some cash out (finally) so bartered like hell to get some earrings. I was on cooking duty back at Macardi beach but started on the vodka slushies straight after. I started getting a headache so backed off. There were no chairs left so I had to share a massive wooden Hippo with Matt and every time he stood up I went straight over with the hippo. Again most people played drinking games but again I just watched. My feelings about Daz being a wanker were even more confirmed when he told the group he didn’t have feelings for Miri (1 of the Swiss sisters) and it was "more of a friend/comfort thing". Yeah try telling your girlfriend back home!!!

Robin’s camera died on the ferry, we don’t know what’s wrong with it!!! Shit!!!

20th Aug Sun DAY 30 DAR ES SALAAM - IRINGA

Today I woke up with the shits! I told Robin last night to wake me so I had time for a morning swim before breakfast and I heard her moving about the tent but had no idea what the time was so I didn’t get up. Later on she comes back "Amanda get up, you have 2mins for breakfast if your not up I'm gunna pack the tent with you in it." I checked my watch and it was 5:45am, we were leaving in
Beautiful StoneTownBeautiful StoneTownBeautiful StoneTown

Bit of a fragile building by the looks. Copyright Robin
15mins!!! I jumped up and went to have breakfast but it was all being packed away. I was starving!!! Robin says she tried to wake me earlier...

I slept in between 2 seats on the floor of the truck and woke up with sore ears as we had been going through some mountains. Arriving at Kislinzo Campsite I set the tent up on my own as Robin upgraded to a room with bed for her back and I had the tent to myself so I wasn’t complaining. I waited in line for a hot shower and used some of Sarah’s conditioner (first time since I arrived) and my hair felt so nice! Dinner was cooked for us, traditional Tanzanian and they played their drums as we walked in, so cute. At the bar later which was also very cool we had a hot choc with Amarillo and brownie. Some guys at the bar wanted me to go over and talk to them but I was so completely buggered that I refused (what an idiot hey!) and went to bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 122, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

Beautiful StoneTownBeautiful StoneTown
Beautiful StoneTown

Copyright Heather
More marketsMore markets
More markets

Copyright Heather


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb