Arrival in paradise......


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Kendwa
December 28th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello again!

I suppose I should start from last Monday leading right untill this moment in this little internet cafe actually overlooking the beach!

I went to KiliKids as they were having their offical christmas party on the Monday for a couple of hours before doing my packing and last minute bits and bobs. It was great to see the kids one last time but what I forgot to mention before, which I think is worth mentioning is that I saw a live goat get killed - African style. I never thought before that I was squeamish about seeing blood and the likes and I understand that it has to be done as part of the 'food chain' and blah blah blah but seeing it get slaughtered was really quite horrific. They tied all its legs together, all the while its writhing and screaching before bringing a small (practically pocket knife sized) knife and start sawing at its throat. The whole process seemed to be so slow and agonising for this poor goat and blood was absolutely everywhere and it was still twitching way after it died - that was a bit freaky. I hope nobody is eating dinner whilst they're reading this if so - pole sana! (very sorry) Anyway I am sure it was very tasty!

So on Tuesday we started our journey to the tropical Zanzibar island. We arose at the unsightly hour of 5a.m. to get on what must have been Africa's most shuddy coach. After a delightful, sweaty, un-airconditioned 8 hours on the coach we arrived at the bus stop where we swiftly took a taxi to the ferry port. Now before I explain this next bit you have to bear in mind that we have seem continuous amounts of friends from the hostel go to and from from Zanzibar and told us that we were never to pay more than 30 usd for the ferry and to not beleive the touts when they add on an extra 5 dollars for 'boat tax' Of course when we arrived they charged tried to charge us 60 dollars plus tax. At this point I was so tired from the bus journey and also so exhausted for having to constantly argue against ridiculous rates. So I calmly and politely told them that we were not stupid, we've had friends do the same journey for less, we aren't willing to pay that much and blah blah blah so the guy started shouting at me and following us around different ticket offices telling all the other touts in swahili to charge us 60 as aparently they are all the same price. He then outright refused to sell me a ticket because I was 'rude' so I went elsewhere where we accidentally found out that we could get them for even cheaper because we have resident status in Tanzania - wohoo. So we ended up only paying around 15 sterling which we were happy with. The boat took around 2 and a half hours but was very comfortable and was greeted at the other end by my cousin James. I will just quickly butt in here to tell you that we happened to be in Zanzibar at the same time and he is working in a hotel out here so was lovely to have some family around for christmas! He then took us to a bar for a quick drink in stone town before dropping us off at our hotel in the north of the island also very near to where he is staying.

We couldn't see the hotel to great effect as we arrived when it was dark but when we awakened and stumbled out of our little beach hut directly on the sand we were greated by crystal blue waters and pure white sands stretching as far as the eye can see. It is the most beautiful beach I have ever ever been to. We sunbathed all day in the hamocks and hollowed out canoes with matresses in them and then sat in the palm thatched bar over looking the sands - its paradise!!! For christmas eve in the evening James invited us to come have some dinner in his hotel (which is amazing!) and then out to a local bar for some drinks. Well when he said christmas party on the beach I envisioned lots of people chilling out drinking with perhaps some light reggea music playing softly in the background while we watched the sun come up. Oh how I was mistaken. Little did I know there would be dancing table tops (fully lead may I tell you by James), music blaring, drinks flowing, people dancing as far as the eye could see. It was great! There we met these English chaps who invited us for a christmas bbq the next day. Alice and I are in no position to turn down a free dinner as everything is so ludicrously priced over here. So we all the next night stayed on the beach where Alice and I are staying and had dinner and some drinks and partied the night away as Kendwa had laid on full African dancing, fire breathing the works for christmas evening. The last two nights have been much more of the same but I suppose more chilled out as we have tried to discover some more local restaurants where the food is cheaper and have now found tastier!

Life on Zanzibar is very chilled during the day and one big party at night. Its fantastic. I think we stay here in Kenwa for new years as aparently they throw a good party - how exciting. The whole place is heaving with mzungos which is a massive change after the mainland and the locals are really friendly, obviously having mixed with tourists alot of the time their english is also good.

I have only a few moments left on the computer so I'm sorry I couldn't give too much detail as this thing costs like a quid a minute! Will let you know how new years goes. Photos will be coming soon, just need to find a computer thats compatible on pin down my elusive cousing during the day and try and use his. Hope our little island of England is as fabulous as Zanzibar!

Lots of love!!

Meg xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb