Hilly start to Tanzania


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » West » Mbeya
May 10th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Malawi was fun, though very hilly, but then I didn't realise how hilly the Poloto mountains in Tanzania would be.
There was an interesting 8km climb, which took a long time. Reaching the top all the school kids pilled out of class and
whistling and shouting "dongle" or "dongler" they ran with me up the hill, laughing and joking.
It really was an occasion to make me smile. Those little kids can really run.
There has been a barrage of greetings and I try my best to wave back.
Anyhow, Lake Malawi was quite beautiful and I took a wrong turning from Mzuzu ending up at Nkhata beach and did some snorkelling.
Malawians are friendly people.
I didn't see many people eating, except sugar cane, so it's not so easy to eat myself with the kids around.
Even shopping tends to give a guilt complex as I half fill a shopping basket.
Malawi is pretty populated with no real stopping place to avoid the crowds, so I get hassled quite a bit. But I'm having to
harden to this, turning down paintings from someone with both hands missing.
The taxi ride back to Mzuzu was insane and the drivers go at crazy speeds. One chicken dead and lots of locals standing well clear. I just gripped my teeth and hoped he didn't hit anyone.
The Songwe border crossing with Tanzania was straight forward, just $50 for the visa, which was a bit of a gamble, but a couple of people told me the visa was obtainable from the border.
One of the trailer tyres gave out on the potholes, but here in Mbeya I paid some one to go buy me another.
One of the pedals is also on the way out and the gears are starting to slip, but otherwise the bike is good.
So I'll be heading for Iringa fairly soon, but for now, here in Paradise Inn Mbeya, I'll be resting mainly.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb