My email to myfamily, short but more to follow


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North
July 13th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! Sorry it's taken me so long to get to a computer. I'm at in internet cafe in Moshi town, after waiting for about 2 hours. The flight went very well! On the the first one, from dulles to schiphol, i sat next to a woman from Ghana who spoke no english, so it was pretty quiet. Waiting in Amsterdam I found another of my CCS volunteers and we traveled from there to Kilimanjaro where our driver picked us up.

Africa is beautiful, and it's still very surreal that I'm here. We slept in this morning, (its 4:30 pm on sunday), then we went to town and took a tour of Moshi for about 2 hours. We then had lunch and now some fellow volunteers and I went back to town, where I am now. The people here are EXTREMELY friendly, both in general and also because we are "mzungus" (white people) and they want our money. 😊 I've met the most amazing staff at my placement and my language practice was really worth it. Tomorrow is another day of orientation, we'll be able to meet the heads of our placements and talk to them about our obligations there. My placement is within walking distance of our beautiful homebase, so it's pretty easy.

Some interesting observations:
the roads smell like dust and diesel
it rained this morning, it's the dry season
every child shouts mzungu and then high-fives you

Well, I only payed for 15 minutes so I'd better say baadaye! I'm going to go into town tomorrow and probably all next week so I'll keep you updated. I'll fill in my blog when I have more time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb