Day 3 - Safari


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Serengeti National Park
August 4th 2014
Published: January 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Went through Serengeti again. Saw 3 cheetahs and 1 leopard and lions!!! How exciting!

Went to the Ngorongoro crater place. Saw many many wildebeest and zebras. Managed to see lions and hyenas and buffalos and elephants...OH and 1 RHINO!!! (far, but still identifiable)

So, I managed to see the big 5 today. How cool is that!

The hotelish-resort today is the best so far. It's a proper room, as opposed to the tent. My guide insists on bringing me to see some craft stuff and tanzanite tomorrow. I'm not interested in these types of stuff at all. Oh well, I supposed I should humour him, see as he keeps telling me how he always tries to do his best for me.

Animals

10. Warthog 11. ostrich 12. vultures 13. cheetahs 14. leopard 15. rhino 16. dik dik (smallest antelope in the world) 17. elands (biggest antelope in the world) 18. Thomson gazelle 19. buffalo

I saw a sick and dying young female lion today. It was so sad. It made me realise how we are unable to help them because of the fear of upsetting the balance of nature (survival of the fittest and whatnot). Made me think of why it is acceptable to not help animals but not humans. And then I realise, animals thrive through survival of the fittest, but humans through social interactions and helping each other.

Anyways, it's been so cool seeing all these animals. Oh, I realised that all the male lions I've seen travel in groups of 3. I always thought that they were a lone ranger...or unable to survive with each other due to being able to have only 1 alpha status and whatnot. My guide told me that they are brothers.

Also, I saw a family of hyenas. The babies are so adorable!!! At one of the gates, there were so many monkeys (maybe baboons). The babies there were very adorable too. As mentioned earlier, I saw many zebras and wildebeests. They were on the road, just standing or walking really slowly. They would barely move just to let a vehicle pass through, although the young ones spook more easily.

The lions I saw were so close to the zebras and wildebeests. I wondered if they noticed each other's presence and just can't be bothered.



PS: Photos are in the Day 4 entry.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb