Spirituality of the Serengeti


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Serengeti National Park
October 30th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

TemboTemboTembo

Elephants on the horizon of Serengeti
Last week as we traveled over dirt roads for hours and hours to the Serengeti I looked out of our Land Cruiser over endless flat, brown, plains that appeared to be nothing but dirt, dust, and dead grass. The road was full of rocks and holes, the ride was almost painful as was the scenery. Here I was in one of the great National Parks of Tanzania and I was nothing in the midst of this. All of my seemingly important thoughts and feelings were meaningless here; my needs, my anxieties, all were nothing. I was nothing. It was a very lonely and isolating feeling.
The next morning I thought about my meaninglessness in this place. We set out again and this time, an "aha" moment. In all of this huge expanse, in all of these plains, in all of this dirt and dust--I was part of all of this. I was part of the plains. I was part of the life here, even if just for this day, with the wildlife, the big cats, the gazelles, the elephants and giraffes. It was as if the landscape was part of the great belly of Mother Earth and if I was patient
TreeTreeTree

Sausage Tree on the Serengeti
and if I waited, oh the things of beauty She would show me. The amazingness of wild animals who are free, the sound of the wind, the brightness of the light, small pockets of water in pools and streams where life came to survive, and small areas of green that brought brightness to my heart. Our driver and guide asked me if I had dreamt about animals the night before. I told him I had not. When I asked him if he had dreamt about animals he replied, "Oh, yes. Elephants and giraffes. We were all eating together at one table." Oh, Seregenti and Alfred, thank you. Blessings, Anne


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

TwigaTwiga
Twiga

Giraffe on the Serengeti
Water PoolWater Pool
Water Pool

Hippos in the water
WarthogsWarthogs
Warthogs

Momma and Babies
Lilac Crested RollerLilac Crested Roller
Lilac Crested Roller

Magical colors of a roller
ElephantsElephants
Elephants

Baby elephant walk
LionsLions
Lions

They came a little too close
ZebrasZebras
Zebras

Zebra Dust
Ostrich FamilyOstrich Family
Ostrich Family

Momma, Dad & Babies


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb