What do you want to be when you grow up? I want to be an elephant!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Serengeti National Park
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Intrepid Safari MenThe Intrepid Safari MenThe Intrepid Safari Men

Livingstone was pleased that Stanley found him
When I was a child of 4 years old I caused much hilarity to my parents and other rellies by answering the question, 'what do you want to be when you grow up?' with a very honest 'I want to be an elephant!'

Well this week I almost got my wish. I certainly got the next best thing which was to be close to my spiritual brothers although I think their memories are superior to mine. For the past 5 days I have been on safari and have probably rubbed shoulders (almost literally) with a good 200 elephants.

Tom and I have visited Lake Manyara, Serengeti, Nogorongoro Crater and Tarangire Safari Parks here in Tanzania and have seen more animals in their home than I would have believed possible. In fact, I had an overwhelming sensation that they must have escaped from the zoo as I am only accustomed to seeing elephants, giraffes, lions, cheetahs, leopards, hippos and rhinoceros in zoos.

We were accompanied on our safari by our driver John, a very cool ex rasta who smiled all the time and said 'cool' to every request, our cook was Ali, a rather quiet but extremely steady and
Great White HunterGreat White HunterGreat White Hunter

This is the skull of my elephant brother.
sure cook. Our two co-safari-ists were Ephrain and Janet, two doctors from Nicaragua taking a much needed rest from their work in Rwanda with Medecins sans Frontieres where Janet is Head of Mission.

I can only describe my experience as out of this world. If you have read the Lost World by Arthur Conan Doyle you might have an idea of how it was for me in the Ngorongoro Crater which is an enormous volcanic crater home to all the above mentioned wildlife and more in the most magical of settings.

I have not finished but am out of time so I will post anyway


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The Hippos The Hippos
The Hippos

Hippos providing a model for retirement.
Two Types of WildlifeTwo Types of Wildlife
Two Types of Wildlife

One of the more dangerous species posing with the zebras.
My Other BrotherMy Other Brother
My Other Brother

Can you see the resemblance?
Sunrise On The SerengetiSunrise On The Serengeti
Sunrise On The Serengeti

Oh what a beautiful morning!
GiraffeGiraffe
Giraffe

Another beautiful animal
King of the JungleKing of the Jungle
King of the Jungle

He's thinking: More friggin' tourists!
King of the JungleKing of the Jungle
King of the Jungle

He's thinking: More friggin' tourists!
Janet and EphrainJanet and Ephrain
Janet and Ephrain

Two Lovely People


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb