More Small World, Snakes and Safari


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Ngorongoro Conservation Area
August 10th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Maasai VillageMaasai VillageMaasai Village

On the way to to Ngorongoro Crater.
Random Meetings
For our first weekend in Tanzania a large group of us organized a safari to Ngorongoro Crater and Lake Manyara. It is about a 2 1/2 hour drive from Tengeru and on the way we stopped at Meserani Snake Park. When I mentioned to my friend Ben I was going to Tanzania, he said, "Oh, my friend Lan's family has a snake park if you want to meet up with them". My first thought was why would I want to go to a snake park, I hate snakes. I asked our safari driver if there were a lot of snake parks here and he said there were a couple, but this one is the biggest and most popular. I then asked if it was owned by a South African and he said yes. Sure enough, it was the Lan's family's snake park. So I met Lan's mom, Ma, and hung out with her for a while. The funny thing is I met Lan last year unexpectedly at Wimbledon. The world is very small.

Safari
If there is a mosquito in the world, it will find me, so to avoid the malaria infested mosquitoes, I have been a walking
Me and MaMe and MaMe and Ma

The world is SO small. I met Lan, Ma's son, last year at Wimbledon.
DEET cocktail since I've arrived in Africa. I've been so diligent about insect repellent and sleeping in my mosquito net that I haven't had one bite this week and was beginning to think I was invincible, that is until I got to our hotel in Mto Wa Mbu, which translates in English to "Mosquito River". New tally on Mosquito Bites: 1

We arrived to Ngorongoro crater around 9AM to a huge pile of clouds. By the way, did I mention it is not warm here at all? From the lookout point where you should see the entire crater, all we could see were clouds. It reminded me of Jurassic Park, driving into the unknown. My friend Erin had mentioned going on safari you drive around for hours and hours, get really dirty from all the dust kicking up, stop for lunch and then do some more dust eating in the afternoon. Pretty much accurate and sounds like it might not be that much fun, but it is SO worth it to see all the animals in their natural environment. I could do this for days and days although I would need a lot more memory cards for my camera.
Creepy BuzzardCreepy BuzzardCreepy Buzzard

At the Snake Farm.


I won't bore you with writing about all the animals we encountered . . . pictures are much more fun. Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

What Nice Teeth You HaveWhat Nice Teeth You Have
What Nice Teeth You Have

More Snake Farm . . . can you tell I'm shooting this through a chain link fence?
Maasai LandMaasai Land
Maasai Land

Maasai tending to their livestock.
Welcoming BaboonsWelcoming Baboons
Welcoming Baboons

Entering Ngorongoro Crater.
Boy LionBoy Lion
Boy Lion

Amazing how they blend in.
Playful ZebrasPlayful Zebras
Playful Zebras

This one just finished kicking the other in the head.
ZebrasZebras
Zebras

I could take pictures of these all day.
 Field o' Wildebeast Field o' Wildebeast
Field o' Wildebeast

I think they're one of the "least beautiful" of the animals, but this is my favorite picture from the day.
BabiesBabies
Babies

Lots of babies in the park.
Babies 2Babies 2
Babies 2

They just stood here as if they were ready for their photo shoot.
Creepy HyenaCreepy Hyena
Creepy Hyena

Keeping an eye on the Wildebeast.
Happy HipposHappy Hippos
Happy Hippos

We ate lunch by them. They never moved.
Cheeta CamoflageCheeta Camoflage
Cheeta Camoflage

I think one of these Zebras may be in trouble.
Ostrich in HeatOstrich in Heat
Ostrich in Heat

Evidently the females flair their feathers during this time. The males are the darker ones.
Love the ZebraLove the Zebra
Love the Zebra

I wish he could fit in my backyard in SF.


29th August 2007

WOW
Amazing pictures. I love the 'playful zebras' one. I think the zebras are so striking. They are some of my favourites. Ooh, no you can't tell it was taken through a chain link fence. :D.
29th August 2007

awesome photos!
Incredible photos of the animals, Christy. Love, Va.
29th August 2007

Keep It Up Girl!!!!
What a wonderful blog. So enjoyed see the animals of the jungle and your added humor. I'm certainly glad you didn't show any snakes. They are useless and I even hate earthworms. Keep enjoying!!!!! Love, Uncle Dick & Aunt Mary
30th August 2007

The Field o Wildebeast picture looks like a painting...what an amazing shot. You could publish that one for sure.

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 24; qc: 113; dbt: 0.1916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb