Tanzania


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Musoma
October 26th 2007
Published: October 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Musoma SunriseMusoma SunriseMusoma Sunrise

beautiful sunrise over Lake Victoria
I have officially accepted a missions trip and am now on my way! 😊

I was offered to go to Musoma, Tanzania on the coast of Lake Victoria. Currently the orphanage has closed and they just left the kids to live on the streets. The local church has taken in the children but they do not have the resources to house them nor educate them. So they have asked for a team to go there to help them get an orphanage running. Currently the children are sleeping in pews.

After being offered the mission, I was told to pray and see if that was where I was being lead. My checklist online was changed to Tanzania so I could see what I would have to do if I accepted the trip. I felt really at peace about the trip even though I have NO idea how I will be able to afford such a trip and with my student loans in my face. Over the past weekend I felt this YES inside my heart and I called to say that I would go. They said it was a blessing since no one had taken the step to accept it
Musoma ChildrenMusoma ChildrenMusoma Children

Children are what my heart aches for.
yet.

I was told to begin working on my online check list (getting a physical, vaccinations, paperwork, health insurance, support raising, etc.) and keep praying. Stephanie last night said that now is when I will be attacked even stronger and she is correct. Sometimes I get so anxious that I can't breathe. "What am I doing?" runs through my head and I want to call the whole thing off.

Everyone thinks it's so amazing that I'm doing this but really, it's a huge step of faith. I'm risking putting myself into the same situation I was after college; jobless, broke and frantic to pay my bills. I have faith though that God will provide and if I continue to follow, He will bless my feet along the way.

"Courage is being afraid but going on anyhow. " ~Dan Rather

My ticket has not been purchased so I do not know the exact dates. Now that I have accepted the trip, the travel department will receive my information and they will begin to look for a plane ticket. Once that is purchased, I will know when I leave. Currently all I know is that they are looking at the end of January.

The total amount the trip will cost is about $6,600. This is a lot of money...a lot but money is nothing to the God who created it. I should not worry.

Please continue to pray for my heart, the heart of the people I speak to about my trip, the people in Africa and support.

Advertisement



27th October 2007

Changing the world...one step at a time.
This is really, really awesome, Sabrina. I wish you the best of luck on this adventure. Alex and I went to a Cascades Humane Society fund raiser and it's amazing to me how much money people put out there for cats and dogs. Alex, he deals with investments at work since he's a stock broker and said that there's quite a few people out there that will have millions of dollars and no kids so they'll leave it to their dog. THEIR DOG! I like animals, but for crying out loud. I hope you succeed in saving up the money for this trip and have a job to come back to, those kids need the help. If you need help fund raising or coming up with ideas for it, let me know...not that I have any experience, but I'm sure we could brain storm something up for it. I love you!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb